DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Airbrush: Face Photo Editor
PIXOCIAL TECHNOLOGY (SINGAPORE) PTE. LTD. · Photo & Video

What’s the catch? Multiple ad networks bundled — measured, backed by SDKs in the app package.

Analyzed automatically from 6 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

3 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: Medium6 signal sources2,139 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 8.17.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 8.17.0, updated 2026-09-26.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 8.17.0 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 8.17.0, updated 2026-09-23.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 3

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Multiple ad networks bundled
Measuredfrom SDKs in the app packageartefact b24029af5432…
The package embeds several distinct advertising or mediation SDKs — a stack built for ad volume, not for a single house ad.
What we saw: Bundles 8 distinct ad networks / mediation SDKs: Amazon Publisher Services, AppLovin MAX, Google Mobile Ads (AdMob / Ad Manager), Meta Audience Network and 4 more
Aggressive ad load
2 independent sources agreefrom user reviews and the app's own on-screen textartefact b24029af5432…
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Progress is gated behind watching an ad: "Watch ad to use 1 time for FREE"
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
Reported by 46 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Raised by 46 distinct reviewers — 2.8% of the 1,650 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 4

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Trial converts to a charge
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The free trial demands a payment method up front and/or rolls into a paid subscription with no usable warning.
What we saw: Trial converts to a charge: raised by 20 distinct reviewers (1.2% of 1650 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports that the ads misrepresent the app
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Misleading advertising: raised by 6 distinct reviewers (0.4% of 1650 reviews scanned)
In the app's own text: Countdown-timer purchase pressure
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is the app's own on-screen text.artefact b24029af5432…
The app's own purchase copy attaches a deadline to buying — a countdown, 'offer ends in', 'limited time' — or ships a countdown view on a purchase-screen layout.
What we saw: Deadline pressure in the app's own copy: "Offer ends today"
From the store listing: Usable without an account
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is the store privacy disclosure.view evidence
The app's own screens offer a way past sign-up — guest access, skipping, or browsing before registering — rather than gating the product behind an account. The store's privacy disclosure is checked alongside it: that disclosure is self-reported, so it corroborates this credit rather than establishing it.
What we saw: The store privacy disclosure (5 entries) links no contact details or identifiers to the user — consistent with an app that does not require an account. Self-reported by the developer.

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

I absolutely love this app, but… — Don’t get me wrong you have to purchase almost every single thing on this app. Do more free stuff AirBrush. I have not found another app like this. Keep up the great work but like I said, do some free…

3★ · App Store · 2026-08-24

Paywall blocks the basics

updated please read.....I thought I was getting a free trial, but it charged my card and I can't get refunded. PLEASE refund my account..... I have continued to reply to your emails and you still have not refunded my money. I have given…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-08-31

I used this app for years, every time I got a new phone I made sure to download Airbrush. But now everything is paid!! I'm so disappointed, time to find a new app.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-16

After 7 years, I’m disappointed — I’ve been using this app since 2019 and I’m so upset that everything costs money now. All the features that were once apart of the free features are now apart of the paid subscription. Everything is also…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-26

Trial converts to a charge

updated please read.....I thought I was getting a free trial, but it charged my card and I can't get refunded. PLEASE refund my account..... I have continued to reply to your emails and you still have not refunded my money. I have given…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-08-31

I cancelled this 2 months ago and I'm being charged a new subscription 😡. I cancelled and got a refund for being charged for a free trial. I cancelled at that time. I'm now being charged with a new subscription 😡. Don't ever use this…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-19

Free trail — Don’t fall the for free trail if you have bad memory. It said it was going to send a notification when the free trial was up, but it never did so my account was charged the full amount to pay so now I paid money I did not…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-28

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

NOT FREE — App advertises itself as a free photo editing app, you are unable to save photos that you’ve edited, effectively making this app only useful if you have purchased the subscription, this is false advertising

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-05

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions7
1 week of perfect photosWeekly$7.99
1 month of perfect photosMonthly$10.99
1 month of perfect photosMonthly$6.99
1 month of perfect photosMonthly$7.99
1 year of perfect photosYearly$28.99
1 year of perfect photosYearly$54.99
1 year of perfect photosYearly$54.99
Show 3 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Edit perfect photos instantlyTerm not stated$43.99
Edit perfect photos instantlyTerm not stated$35.00
Edit perfect photos instantlyTerm not stated$43.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 8.17.0 (App Store), 8.17.0 (Google Play)6 independent signals2,139 reviews scannedConfidence: MediumNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.