DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
AlphaNovel - Novels & Stories
Brailion Ventures Limited · Lifestyle

What’s the catch? Nothing we could corroborate against this app.

Analyzed automatically from 3 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

0 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: High3 signal sources473 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-05
 Which version this describes

This analysis describes version 2.39.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-05 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 2.39.0, updated 2026-09-21.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

Context 1

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 0.99 to USD 29.99 — a 30x spread across 10 items

One source only — shown, not confirmed 4

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Aggressive ad load: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (1.9% of 473 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Hard to cancel
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.
What we saw: Hard to cancel: raised by 23 distinct reviewers (4.9% of 473 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports that the ads misrepresent the app
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Misleading advertising: raised by 11 distinct reviewers (2.3% of 473 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports of unexpected charges
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
A large number of reviewers report being charged when they did not expect it — including being charged after cancelling during a free trial, or when a trial turned into a paid plan without warning. We cannot see anyone's billing, so this is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Surprise charges: raised by 21 distinct reviewers (4.4% of 473 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

Good storyline with very poor grammar — It must be a poor translation. Many words are missing or the wrong words are used in in sentences. I feel like I’m proofreading just to get the right gist of what they’re saying. Also 3 long ads to…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-15

Ripoff — Literally every chapter you have to pay for… and it all adds up to be more money than it’s worth. PLUS, the chapters do not flow together. It is not a well thought out book you end up buying per chapter… by the time you give up…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-14

Are the books worth the hassle? — So far the books I’ve tried have been promising, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever finish any of them. Each book I’ve tried started with several chapters with no strings. Then you get a few more if you are…

2★ · App Store · 2026-06-09

Hard to cancel

Scam — This app is a scam & you can’t cancel you subscription as advertised. Don’t sign up!

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-07

Difficult — Finding it hard to cancel this app. Contacting the developer is not possible

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-05

Support stinks — If I could give this a zero I would. Trying to cancel a subscription It’s nearly impossible. I’ve been trying for 3 months and now I’m going to have to cancel my card because of this. Their email is invalid

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-18

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

The stories are good but the price to read them is too high. — The stories are good but the price to read them is too high. I feel like all these stories apps do a bait and switch just like a car salespeople. Even when they say it’s free…

3★ · App Store · 2026-09-11

The stories are good — The stories are good, but they tell you if you get a subscription you have full access to their library. That’s a lie and false advertising. I have waited several days thinking I could get extra coins to finish this…

2★ · App Store · 2026-08-18

Not free — The app is advertised as free reading of all novels but it is not free.

1★ · App Store · 2026-07-29

Reports of unexpected charges

Scam — This app is a scam & you can’t cancel you subscription as advertised. Don’t sign up!

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-07

Thieves — They continue to charge account that was canceled. There isn’t even a listing of the application in either my active or inactive subscriptions. I did pay for the subscription for the low introductory offer but when I realized it…

1★ · App Store · 2026-07-10

Awful — If it was possible to give zero stars I would. I canceled my plans and they keep billing me.

1★ · App Store · 2026-06-10

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

One-off packs8
1000 CoinsPack$9.99
100 CoinsPack$0.99
500 CoinsPack$4.99
AlphaNovel Plus + 300 CoinsPack$2.99
AlphaNovel Plus + 1500 CoinsPack$9.99
3000 CoinsPack$29.99
2000 CoinsPack$19.99
1500 CoinsPack$14.99
Show 2 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

AlphaNovel PlusTerm not stated$6.99
AlphaNovel PlusTerm not stated$9.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-05 Version analyzed: 2.39.03 independent signals473 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.