DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Avenza Maps: Offline Mapping
Avenza Systems Inc. · Utilities

Analyzed automatically. Assessed 2026-10-05 from 959 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

Analyzed automaticallyConfidence: High3 signal sources959 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-05
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 5.7 (274) of the app, analyzed 2026-10-05 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 5.7 (274), updated 2026-08-13.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 5.7 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-04 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 5.7, updated 2026-08-10.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

Context 1

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 0.99 to USD 169.99 — a 172x spread across 10 items

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Tracking and data collection concerns
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The app ships session-recording or a wide tracking stack, holds permissions that read personal data, or is reported by users to sell, leak or over-collect it. The evidence line says which of those was observed.
What we saw: Data & privacy concerns: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (1.0% of 507 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 11 distinct reviewers (2.4% of 452 reviews scanned)
From the store listing: Usable without an account
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is the store privacy disclosure.view evidence
The app's own screens offer a way past sign-up — guest access, skipping, or browsing before registering — rather than gating the product behind an account. The store's privacy disclosure is checked alongside it: that disclosure is self-reported, so it corroborates this credit rather than establishing it.
What we saw: The store privacy disclosure (4 entries) links no contact details or identifiers to the user — consistent with an app that does not require an account. Self-reported by the developer.

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Tracking and data collection concerns

the best map app available no question how this is a lifestyle requirement for any disbursed campers or trial lovers. download the map area you want and it can do more then I am able to put in use. tracking my location offline is so…

5★ · Google Play · 2026-09-04

Best tool on a fire line — As a wildland firefighter, I understand the importance of having accurate and up-to-date information at my fingertips. Avenza Maps has become an indispensable app in my firefighting toolkit. Its exceptional…

5★ · App Store · 2023-06-21

Defending your privacy — If you’re reading this, you’re using an iPhone. If you’re using an iPhone, there’s a good chance that (1) you value your privacy and (2) you are, or would like to be, active. Read this company’s privacy policy…

5★ · App Store · 2023-05-18

Paywall blocks the basics

The new paywall has made me uninstall the app. I used to use this regularly for hunting and hiking. I told all my friends how great it was because I could import up to 3 GeoPDF maps. Now you have to pay for this functionality. If they…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-08-08

do not bother using this app. avenza used to be borderline essential for forestry or ecological surveys. now it is a worthless waste of space on your device, being behind a paywall to do anything useful. it was free for so long and…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-07-09

The lack of android auto is disappointing, but more egregious is the recent change to limit importing custom maps behind a paywall. Scummy tactics, and one that guarantees they won't see a cent from me while that remains their policy

1★ · Google Play · 2026-05-21

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 10 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

BaseImage, LLC Map ProductTerm not stated$0.99
Avenza Maps PlusTerm not stated$34.99
Avenza Maps ProTerm not stated$169.99
National Geographic Map ProductTerm not stated$11.99
US Forest Service R5 Map ProductTerm not stated$4.99
US Forest Service R6 ProductTerm not stated$4.99
Forest Service Topo ProductTerm not stated$0.99
Map the Xperience Map ProductTerm not stated$4.99
Garmin Tier 1Term not stated$0.99
US Forest Service R4 ProductTerm not stated$4.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-05 Version analyzed: 5.7 (274) (App Store), 5.7 (Google Play)3 independent signals959 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.