DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Blinkist: Book Summaries Daily
Blinks Labs · Education

What’s the catch? Multiple ad networks bundled — measured, backed by SDKs in the app package.

Analyzed automatically from 6 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

2 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: High6 signal sources962 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 11.34.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 11.34.0, updated 2026-09-28.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 10.10.8 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-04 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 10.10.9, updated 2026-09-30.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 2

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Multiple ad networks bundled
Measuredfrom SDKs in the app packageartefact 4112f3e3578e…
The package embeds several distinct advertising or mediation SDKs — a stack built for ad volume, not for a single house ad.
What we saw: Bundles 4 distinct ad networks / mediation SDKs: AppLovin MAX, Chartboost, ironSource / Unity LevelPlay, Unity Ads
Hard to cancel
2 independent sources agreefrom user reviews and the app's own on-screen textartefact 4112f3e3578e…
Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.
What we saw: Cancellation copy routes the user away from a direct control: "Before you go, would you mind sharing why you're canceling?"

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Trial converts to a charge
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The free trial demands a payment method up front and/or rolls into a paid subscription with no usable warning.
What we saw: Trial converts to a charge: raised by 6 distinct reviewers (1.2% of 506 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports that the ads misrepresent the app
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Misleading advertising: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (1.0% of 506 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (1.0% of 506 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Hard to cancel

The app is neat, but the content and book summaries are too short and shallow for my taste. I assume they’re largely AI-generated with little to no rigorous quality control. It was also strange that I had to contact customer service just…

3★ · Google Play · 2026-05-04

worst tactic. it's impossible to cancel subscription after getting in. keeps renewing I just learnt this subscription is purchased when I reviewed some transactions. when I was in you website it's so hard.. it seems impossible to cancel…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-07-05

Worst tactic app. Makes it so hard to unsubscribe. and getting into subsription is smooth walk in, noone would know, until review wallet and transactions. also no customer support at all. dont fall into offers or trial game for this.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-07-05

Trial converts to a charge

I am still not sure if I understand the purpose of this app. At first, it was free to listen to books I selected. I wasn't aware that I was under a "free trial", but once I found out how much you charge for a year subscription, I…

3★ · Google Play · 2026-04-12

yeah i did a 14day free trial for a monthly plan that was pretty cheap, i forgot about it and they tried charging me $130 for the month its a stupid scam, its a good thing i hadn't gotten paid yet 😅

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-12

trying to join their 7-Day free trial was immediately charged $139

1★ · Google Play · 2026-07-20

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

everything of interest requires an upgrade, misleading marketing, and bombardment of emails suggesting nothing in your sphere of interest. you are better off just reading the book.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-02

I tried blinkist a long time ago. they are deceptive and misleading in their ads. for example, the AD that caused me to come here and post this review was an ad for 5 books that Mark Cuban says are essential reads. Nowhere in the pages…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-10

misleading ads to download and sign up required for even the free services.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-05-06

Paywall blocks the basics

just about everything is locked unless you pay

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-14

Nice app but everything costs money

4★ · Google Play · 2026-02-11

Blinkist free? — This app is Blinkist free. It's not free. You have to pay for a subscription to view anything. 🙄

1★ · App Store · 2025-08-22

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions5
Blinkist Premium (1 month)Monthly$15.99
Blinkist Premium (1 Month)Monthly$12.99
Blinkist Premium (1 year)Yearly$99.99
Blinkist Premium (1 Year)Yearly$79.99
Blinkist Premium (1 year)Yearly$119.99
Show 3 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

PremiumTerm not stated$89.99
PremiumTerm not stated$14.99
ProTerm not stated$139.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 11.34.0 (App Store), 10.10.8 (Google Play)6 independent signals962 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.