DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Cronometer: Calorie Counter
Cronometer Software Inc · Health & Fitness

Analyzed automatically. Assessed 2026-10-04 from 1,226 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

Analyzed automaticallyConfidence: Medium3 signal sources1,226 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-04
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 4.59.1 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-04 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 4.59.1, updated 2026-09-14.

Google Play

We cannot tell which version of the app this analysis describes. It was run 2026-10-04 , and the app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version VARY, updated 2026-09-11.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 1

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
Reported by 37 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Raised by 37 distinct reviewers — 5.9% of the 632 reviews scanned on this store leg (Google Play).

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 2

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (1.5% of 594 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Users describe the free version as usable
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Reviewers repeatedly say the free version is worth using on its own. Nothing we can measure corroborates that — a free listing with in-app purchases looks identical whether the free tier is generous or a demo — so this is published as what reviewers say, not as a measured credit.
What we saw: Reviewers describe the free version as usable: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (0.8% of 594 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

I have been using Cronometer daily for the better part of 5 years It has a very user centric and appealing interface with a large database of food that is generated by the community. The in-app advertisements are getting out of hand and…

3★ · Google Play · 2026-08-10

It's actually a great app. And I don't mind the free version being ad-supported. But a popup ad that comes up while you're typing and tricks you to open it half the time, or freezes the app somehow just isn't it. I'd be willing to pay to…

3★ · Google Play · 2026-09-28

Ads every 15 seconds

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-12

Paywall blocks the basics

great options available without being behind the paywall. (there is a payable option but it's not NECESSARY for basic tracking)

5★ · Google Play · 2026-09-07

Way better than MyFitnessPal — I used MyFitnessPal for over a decade, but I recently discovered Cronometer, and I’m honestly impressed by how much more value it provides for free. Features like barcode scanning, which MyFitnessPal used to…

5★ · App Store · 2026-09-24

Can’t close ads — I understand ads pay for the free version, but when you can’t close the ads and have to reload the app, something is wrong.

3★ · App Store · 2026-09-11

Users describe the free version as usable

A1 trackerrr — I never ever leave reviews, nothing is ever good enough to leave a review. This is amazing. Easy to use, you can just scan the barcode of the food labels and adjust the serving you used and BOOM done. You can also add…

5★ · App Store · 2026-08-18

The best — If you’re going to take the time to track… make it Cronometer. The free version is great but the extra fee is totally worth the money. It’s worth the investment. Easy to use and fast!

5★ · App Store · 2026-08-14

Free is great — I don’t know why you get so much for free. Maybe the market become more competitive with AI. But I’m surprised.

5★ · App Store · 2026-07-23

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions3
Gold MonthlyMonthly$10.99
Gold AnnualYearly$59.99
Gold SubscriptionTerm not stated$10.99
Show 1 more purchase we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Cronometer GoldTerm not stated$10.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-04 Version analyzed: 4.59.1 (App Store), unknown (Google Play)3 independent signals1,226 reviews scannedConfidence: MediumNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.