DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Financial Times: Business News
Financial Times Ltd. · Lifestyle

Analyzed automatically. Assessed 2026-10-04 from 753 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

Analyzed automaticallyConfidence: High3 signal sources753 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-04
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 1.116 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-04 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 1.116, updated 2026-09-30.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 2.300.0-snapshot.0.24777896888101.13015+8fb9049 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-04 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 2.300.0-snapshot.0.24777896888101.13015+8fb9049, updated 2026-09-28.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

Context 1

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 4.99 to USD 719.00 — a 144x spread across 7 items

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 1

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Hard to cancel
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.
What we saw: Hard to cancel: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (1.5% of 333 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Hard to cancel

Difficult to Cancel Subscription — For whatever reason, FT will not cancel my subscription. I don't want the subscription anymore. I thought I cancelled it months ago, but they renewed it anyways even though their payment processor…

1★ · App Store · 2026-06-28

Does not work well in China and Thialand — FT won’t provide support either. Worse one can’t cancel a subscription . One must protest against credit card. May as well subscribe to Barrons.

1★ · App Store · 2026-05-22

Cannot cancel subscription — The burgers charged me $69 after the first cheap trial month even though I did cancel the subscription. But the app does not have any settings for managing subscription. No way to cancel it. Never mind the…

1★ · App Store · 2022-10-17

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 6 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Premium DigitalTerm not stated$75.00
Standard DigitalTerm not stated$45.00
FT EditTerm not stated$4.99
Standard DigitalTerm not stated$429.00
Premium DigitalTerm not stated$719.00
FT EditTerm not stated$49.00
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-04 Version analyzed: 1.116 (App Store), 2.300.0-snapshot.0.24777896888101.13015+8fb9049 (Google Play)3 independent signals753 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.