DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Gossip Harbor®: Merge & Story
Microfun Limited · Games

What’s the catch? Multiple ad networks bundled — measured, backed by SDKs in the app package.

Analyzed automatically from 6 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

3 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: Medium6 signal sources2,727 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 3.99.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 3.99.0, updated 2026-09-21.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 3.99.0 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-05 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 3.99.0, updated 2026-09-21.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 3

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Multiple ad networks bundled
Measuredfrom SDKs in the app packageartefact b2d1e01c41e6…
The package embeds several distinct advertising or mediation SDKs — a stack built for ad volume, not for a single house ad.
What we saw: Bundles 16 distinct ad networks / mediation SDKs: Amazon Publisher Services, AppLovin MAX, BidMachine, Chartboost and 12 more
Reported by users: Progress pauses until you wait or pay
Reported by 52 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
Use is rationed by an energy/hearts/lives meter that runs out and forces a wait or a purchase.
What we saw: Raised by 52 distinct reviewers — 2.7% of the 1,907 reviews scanned on this store leg (Google Play).
Reported by users: Reports that the ads misrepresent the app
Reported by 176 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Raised by 176 distinct reviewers — 9.2% of the 1,907 reviews scanned on this store leg (Google Play).

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Aggressive ad load: raised by 23 distinct reviewers (1.2% of 1907 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Pay to progress
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advancement or competition is gated behind spending money rather than playing.
What we saw: Pay to progress: raised by 15 distinct reviewers (0.8% of 1907 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Price keeps rising
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The price of the paid tier has been raised on existing users.
What we saw: Price keeps rising: raised by 8 distinct reviewers (0.4% of 1907 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Progress pauses until you wait or pay

game has lots of in app purchase for you to be able to move anywhere, otherwise you are stuck for days with mo energy. maby a 5 min play until energy gone than waiting hours before you can play again

2★ · Google Play · 2026-10-05

Pay wall's after a few levels. Once you get passed a certain level, there is no way to play unless you fork out money. Energy runs out after playing for MAYBE, 10 minutes. NOT WORTH YOUR TIME!!

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-03

The game is entertaining with so much to do like mini games on top of designing your own space and the storyline. But they make it so hard to get energy. I've played other merge games where they give so many prizes that you never really…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-03

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

I like this game for what it is . but the ad I saw was misleading. this game is NOT the mother and child in a blizzard game. Edit: seriously! stop lying in the ads. have some integrity ffs.

4★ · Google Play · 2026-10-04

The ads are fake

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-03

Game is not what they advertised on the app. This is basically like that Candy Crush game.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-02

Aggressive ad load

So many ads in my other games, it's kinda hard to believe there won't be any ads in your game when your game is an ad in every other game

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-04

The ads, of which there are too many, have nothing to do with the game. Why not just advertise the actual gameplay? You even lie in the ads about how this is the game from all those other ads, knowing that it's not at all.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-04

its a fine game but I downloaded it after watching so many ads that said it was EXACTLY like the ads. it is not. its fine but its a Lie.

2★ · Google Play · 2026-09-30

Pay to progress

if I see one more ad about how "this is the game that other games claim to be!" I'm going to snap my phone in half. it has almost nothing to do with the ads, and, also contrary to the advertising, is 100% pay to win. you really can't…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-02

almost everything is pay to win... even than you cant win 🥸

2★ · Google Play · 2026-10-04

Fraud — This game has fraudulently charged me THREE times for things I NEVER purchased!!! Keep an eye on any accounts you have hooked up to your phone bc they will charge it. Luckily i get notifications of charges on my phone. Game play…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-10

Price keeps rising

getting expensive and tedious. it takes forever to reach the higher level items. it takes so much energy as well as my own money and I'm getting tired of it. everything is so expensive, including the items you can buy with the gems…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-27

The graphics are good and the merging aspect is fine. The story line is absolute trash. There is no real aim or goal to the game. everything gradually gets more expensive making it near impossible to play without spending money. It's free…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-01

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

One-off packs7
Premium Energy BundlePack$3.99
Coffee BundlePack$2.99
Event Pack 7-15Pack$2.99
Event Pack 7-1Pack$3.99
Event Pack 5-1Pack$3.99
Seafood BundlePack$3.99
Special BundlePack$9.99
Show 3 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

A Bit of GemsTerm not stated$1.99
A Few GemsTerm not stated$4.99
Mini OfferTerm not stated$3.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 3.99.0 (App Store), 3.99.0 (Google Play)6 independent signals2,727 reviews scannedConfidence: MediumNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.