DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
GuitarTuna: Tune & Play Guitar
Yousician Ltd · Lifestyle

What’s the catch? Price may differ from what you see here — measured, backed by SDKs in the app package.

Analyzed automatically from 6 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

1 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: High6 signal sources1,966 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 7.102.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 7.102.0, updated 2026-09-23.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 7.102.0 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 7.102.0, updated 2026-10-05.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 1

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Price may differ from what you see here
Measuredfrom SDKs in the app packageartefact 4ba433a36737…
The app ships a remote paywall-experimentation SDK, so the offer shown is configured server-side and may differ per user — including from anything we or a reviewer saw.
What we saw: Paywall is server-configured and A/B tested via RevenueCat Paywalls — the offer shown can differ per user

Context 1

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 1.99 to USD 139.99 — a 70x spread across 10 items

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Aggressive ad load: raised by 7 distinct reviewers (1.1% of 646 reviews scanned)
In the app's own text: Hard to cancel
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is the app's own on-screen text.artefact 4ba433a36737…
Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.
What we saw: Cancellation copy routes the user away from a direct control: "Before you cancel, please consider accepting this offer"
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 6 distinct reviewers (0.9% of 646 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

Gr8 experience. Understandable but Unfortunately to much advertising for pro version.

4★ · Google Play · 2026-10-01

Broken ad, can’t move to next screen — The ad’s close button doesn’t work, couldn’t find a hidden button. Tried the annoying step of clicking the ad’s link to their App Store page, still stuck. Tried this several times, tabs are broken on…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-13

They’ve added so many ads and interruptions — The app is great IF you have the premium version. Every time you open the app, you have to swipe through and dismiss their ad for premium. Tune your instrument one time? same thing. Switch to…

2★ · App Store · 2026-09-12

Paywall blocks the basics

Bro I can’t do anything for free in this world — This app is trash you need to pay to tune anything other than standard tuning

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-11

Bassist sea bass — Pretty great! I like the intuitive design and easy navigation. It just feels like most things are hidden behind a paywall…

4★ · App Store · 2026-08-21

What happened? — This app was my go-to tuner. It was great. Id not used it in a while, redownloaded it to tune my guitar and now it’s basically unusable. They added so many features, captive windows, paywalls, and…. automated tuning?…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-21

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions9
GuitarTuna Play MonthlyMonthly$9.99
GuitarTuna Play MonthlyMonthly$8.99
GuitarTuna Tools MonthlyMonthly$6.49
GuitarTuna Learn MonthlyMonthly$24.99
GuitarTuna Play YearlyYearly$39.99
GuitarTuna Learn YearlyYearly$139.99
GuitarTuna Tools YearlyYearly$29.99
GuitarTuna Pro SubscriptionTerm not stated$6.49
GuitarTuna Pro SubscriptionTerm not stated$1.99
Show 1 more purchase we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

GuitarTuna ProTerm not stated$12.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 7.102.0 (App Store), 7.102.0 (Google Play)6 independent signals1,966 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.