DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
HelloTalk - Language Learning
HELLOTALK FOREIGN LANGUAGE EXCHANGE LEARNING TALK CHAT APP · Education

What’s the catch? Nothing we could corroborate against this app.

Analyzed automatically from 3 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

0 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: High3 signal sources516 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-05
 Which version this describes

This analysis describes version 6.4.20 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-05 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 6.4.20, updated 2026-09-23.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

Context 1

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 0.29 to USD 149.99 — a 517x spread across 10 items

One source only — shown, not confirmed 2

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Aggressive ad load: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (1.0% of 516 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (1.7% of 516 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

Expensive and restrictive — Too many ads without subscription( $79). And HelloTalk will suspend account for the most silly reasons

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-09

Constant ads shoved down your throat — As the title says. It’s ridiculous. I used to use this app in 2019 and it was much better then.

1★ · App Store · 2026-02-14

Not a good experience at all. — The interface of this app looks like those scam pages. Tons of color, things popping out at you, constant ads. There’s way too many buttons and doesn’t make for easy navigation at all and keeps continuously…

1★ · App Store · 2026-01-22

Paywall blocks the basics

Double standards racist — I’ve been banned from using this app permanently and the support team replies insanely late over 24 hours and they said I was banned for violating the rules and I will be honest. I did say some bad stuff but that…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-13

Money hungry — See i would give it 5 stars but mannnnn you literally have to pay for everything just to talk and learn and you can’t even switch languages without paying for vip. It’s like the only way to really have fun on this app is if…

3★ · App Store · 2026-06-23

Greedy Pricing — Translation feature is locked behind a paywall after 10 translations. How does this make sense for an application for language learning ? $13 a month they charge and they can’t even moderate the platform properly…

1★ · App Store · 2026-05-28

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions4
Monthly auto-renewal VIPMonthly$12.99
VIP Membership MonthlyMonthly$12.99
VIP Membership YearlyYearly$79.99
VIP MembershipTerm not stated$79.99
Show 6 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

64 HT CoinsTerm not stated$0.99
649 HT CoinsTerm not stated$9.99
324 HT CoinsTerm not stated$4.99
3249 HT CoinsTerm not stated$49.99
10334 HT CoinsTerm not stated$149.99
8 HT CoinsTerm not stated$0.29
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-05 Version analyzed: 6.4.203 independent signals516 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.