DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Matchington Mansion
Magic Tavern, Inc. · Games

What’s the catch? Multiple ad networks bundled — measured, backed by SDKs in the app package.

Analyzed automatically from 6 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

1 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: High6 signal sources1,015 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 1.211.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 1.211.0, updated 2026-09-19.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 1.211.0 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-05 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 1.211.0, updated 2026-09-18.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 1

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Multiple ad networks bundled
Measuredfrom SDKs in the app packageartefact 88f3ba03e270…
The package embeds several distinct advertising or mediation SDKs — a stack built for ad volume, not for a single house ad.
What we saw: Bundles 9 distinct ad networks / mediation SDKs: Amazon Publisher Services, AppLovin MAX, Fyber / Digital Turbine Exchange, Google Mobile Ads (AdMob / Ad Manager) and 5 more

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Aggressive ad load: raised by 12 distinct reviewers (2.4% of 500 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports that the ads misrepresent the app
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Misleading advertising: raised by 8 distinct reviewers (1.6% of 500 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Pay to progress
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advancement or competition is gated behind spending money rather than playing.
What we saw: Pay to progress: raised by 6 distinct reviewers (1.2% of 500 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

It's horrible enough that you people force us to watch ads.....except you actually made it worse. The ads will not end. And the moron who answers said watch a tutorial on why ads won't close. You dummies use AI for answers don't you. AND…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-12

I've been playing since 2018 reached over 16,000 levels though the app has been swamped with advertisements even more than ever. It's frustrating and no longer enjoyable. This game was a way for me to relax in the past though now it…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-13

ADS — many ads with bug

3★ · App Store · 2026-08-16

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

fun but annoying- false advertising — don’t get me wrong i love this game. however it’s such a money grab! can’t win any level without paying. they took away ads so you can watch ads to get more tries, and it seems as if every other level…

2★ · App Store · 2026-05-24

Not as advertised — This game is nothing like the ad there are no mini Games like these in the game I played for 4 years and never saw any of the things in the ad it’s also a game where you pay to play

1★ · App Store · 2026-05-10

False advertising — I like the game and have been playing it for years, but I don’t understand why the ads/preview for this game, and many other games, are so misleading. There are no dramatic “help save this baby from the cold because…

3★ · App Store · 2026-04-18

Pay to progress

I've played this game for years. since the blonde was British. Everything changed for the worse. Not only did it become heavier pay to win, but now it's pay to play. You can't pass levels or accomplish any of the events without spending…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-23

fun but annoying- false advertising — don’t get me wrong i love this game. however it’s such a money grab! can’t win any level without paying. they took away ads so you can watch ads to get more tries, and it seems as if every other level…

2★ · App Store · 2026-05-24

Pay to win — It’s pay to win so anticipate getting stuck for ridiculous periods of time or paying.

1★ · App Store · 2026-04-02

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

One-off packs3
Stack of CoinsPack$1.99
Bag of CoinsPack$4.99
Coin Bundle 1.99-1Pack$1.99
Show 7 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

1100 Matchington Mansion CoinsTerm not stated$1.99
Novice FurnisherTerm not stated$2.99
Aspiring DecoratorTerm not stated$5.99
Coin PiggyTerm not stated$9.99
3000 Matchington Mansion CoinsTerm not stated$4.99
Talented DesignerTerm not stated$12.99
7000 Matchington Mansion CoinsTerm not stated$9.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 1.211.0 (App Store), 1.211.0 (Google Play)6 independent signals1,015 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.