DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Notability: AI Notes & Planner
Ginger Labs · Productivity

We analyzed this app across 3 independent signals and corroborated nothing unfair. That is a signal, not an audit.

Nothing unfair corroborated · unauditedConfidence: High3 signal sources658 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-05
 Which version this describes

This analysis describes version 16.12.4 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-05 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 16.12.4, updated 2026-09-28.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Aggressive ad load: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (0.8% of 658 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Tracking and data collection concerns
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The app ships session-recording or a wide tracking stack, holds permissions that read personal data, or is reported by users to sell, leak or over-collect it. The evidence line says which of those was observed.
What we saw: Data & privacy concerns: raised by 6 distinct reviewers (0.9% of 658 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (1.4% of 658 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

Please Fix a Longstanding Issue With Quizzes. Paying Customers Deserve Better — Recording a lecture DOES NOT generate quizzes as advertised. I’ve ensured the recording and scribed notes are within the parameters required. The issue/error…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-06

Terrible app very disappointed — I have this app for quite a while years ago I purchased it, let me tell you they have so many advertisement pop-ups and always they have something that the app is not loading right away it’s really not…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-03

Not as good as it used to be — Constant ads and features that were included previously seem to slowly be making their way to being a paid add-on

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-04

Tracking and data collection concerns

Where are my notes going?? — If you want to pay money for a paper emulator for note taking this app does very well! However if you want to use those notes at a later date, good luck! This app’s file system and storage is inconsistent and…

2★ · App Store · 2026-09-18

Account now required — Have used this for years without issues. All notes saved locally. Today, attempted to review a note and it’s locked behind an account setup page. No work around other than to create a new account. I sincerely have…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-14

Issues with privacy and laptop app — After using this app for about 2 years I have decided to give up on it due to privacy issues. I like to hand write all my notes on my ipad and then use my laptop to convert them into text and be able…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-02

Paywall blocks the basics

SO wrong in SO many ways — I bought this app in good faith, added paid-for features, and purchased icon packs. Now you are saying that all the money I’ve invested will be good for only a year more? This isn’t right and I’m lodging a…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-13

they are removing features and increasing prices — All the data I had access to on my ipad for notability was removed when they changed syncing your notes to the more expensive platform. I used to have all my notes shared between my mac…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-08

Terrible Update!! Boo! — I have used this app for years now and have absolutely loved it! I have used it for college notes to using it DAILY in an elementary classroom and I have used it for personal use many times. HOWEVER! Now you have…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-03

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 7 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Notability PlusTerm not stated$19.99
Notability LiteTerm not stated$14.99
Notability LiteTerm not stated$5.99
Notability PlusTerm not stated$7.99
Notability ProTerm not stated$99.99
Notability ProTerm not stated$19.99
Notability ClassicTerm not stated$49.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-05 Version analyzed: 16.12.43 independent signals658 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.