DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Photoleap: AI Photo Generator
Lightricks Ltd. · Photo & Video

What’s the catch? Trial converts to a charge — reported by 51 users.

Analyzed automatically from 3 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

3 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: Low3 signal sources1,417 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

This analysis describes version 2.124 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 2.124, updated 2026-08-05.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 3

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Reported by users: Trial converts to a charge
Reported by 51 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
The free trial demands a payment method up front and/or rolls into a paid subscription with no usable warning.
What we saw: Raised by 51 distinct reviewers — 3.6% of the 1,417 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
Reported by 54 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Raised by 54 distinct reviewers — 3.8% of the 1,417 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).
Reported by users: Reports of unexpected charges
Reported by 88 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
A large number of reviewers report being charged when they did not expect it — including being charged after cancelling during a free trial, or when a trial turned into a paid plan without warning. We cannot see anyone's billing, so this is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Raised by 88 distinct reviewers — 6.2% of the 1,417 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Hard to cancel
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.
What we saw: Hard to cancel: raised by 15 distinct reviewers (1.1% of 1417 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports that the ads misrepresent the app
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Misleading advertising: raised by 10 distinct reviewers (0.7% of 1417 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Price keeps rising
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The price of the paid tier has been raised on existing users.
What we saw: Price keeps rising: raised by 7 distinct reviewers (0.5% of 1417 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Trial converts to a charge

Free trial isn’t free — Started a 7 day free trial and got charged 10 dollars immediately, don’t get scammed

1★ · App Store · 2026-01-29

Scammy App!!! — Here is my experience with Photoleap. After never even hearing about this app, never even thought of AI photo generator apps at all, I received an email for a receipt for a subscription for a year of service after a free…

1★ · App Store · 2026-01-21

THIEFS - STEAL YOUR MONEY — This app is pure theft. I CANCELLED during the free trial and they STILL charged me. Support? Nothing but an automated email telling me ‘bad luck’ — no human, no refund, no apology. Multiple people have been…

1★ · App Store · 2026-01-07

Paywall blocks the basics

Used to be awesome. — As I said, it used to be awesome back when this was Photofox. NOW they’re just money hungry and now put what once were free features behind paywalls. This app used to genuinely be useful. About a year ago all of the…

1★ · App Store · 2026-05-28

Putting features behind paywall — Don’t let them lie to you. Many MANY features, such as blur, cutout, and many others used to be free, but the developers have put more and more behind their paywall over time. They have added NOTHING new…

1★ · App Store · 2026-04-27

Great… If You Want A Subscription — This app was great when I first got it several years ago, but each tool has been put behind a paywall to the point that using the free version is worse than just using my phone. I just cannot find a…

5★ · App Store · 2026-03-02

Reports of unexpected charges

Scam — Never signed up for this and cannot get a refund. This app is a scam!!!! Edit: They requested I contact them and I already have!!! No one is trying to return my money! BEWARE

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-09

Unauthorized charge on my card — Never signed up for a subscription

1★ · App Store · 2026-06-13

Charging me and no refund — I haven’t used this app in months, yet it auto-charged me for a renewal I reset with the company in multiple ways, but according to their “ company policy” they cannot refund me the money despite the mistake…

1★ · App Store · 2026-05-27

Hard to cancel

Please refund — I never downloaded or used this app, but my credit card was charged every year for 3 years without my knowledge. The subscription does not show up in my Apple Subscriptions, so there was no way to cancel through the usual…

1★ · App Store · 2025-10-06

Scam — After cancelling the 7-day trial, you will continue to be charged. It’s impossible to cancel or get a refund. I had to cancel my credit card to stop the recurring charges. Many Reddit threads on this. Stay away

1★ · App Store · 2025-06-01

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

Very disappointed by false marketing claims — Advertising shows ability to make younger versions of people in photos. There is no such thing in the app anywhere. If there was a full scale rating system, I would give them a -10.

1★ · App Store · 2025-06-29

You have to pay to use! — There was no mention of having to have a subscription to use this app; you only find out after you download it. Now when I delete the app, it goes up to the Cloud and takes up space! Truly a Bait and switch!

1★ · App Store · 2025-06-17

Charged $20+ before free trial??? — Why was I charged $20+ before I got to try the 7-day free trial? I chose the free trial with a yearly subscription if, I liked the app and wished to continue to use it! Bait and switch is not cool!! I…

1★ · App Store · 2025-04-27

Price keeps rising

Where the actual f do you get off — Raising your price from $60 annually to $100. Get scraped. Edit: Did you also use an A.I. for that "developer's" "response" trying to justify your price hike? I never asked for any AI features, pretty…

1★ · App Store · 2026-03-18

used to love it — used this app back when it was called Photofox. Extremely limited without the expensive subscription. Prices have been hiked up so much, all for AI features that nobody wants. Very disappointing you can’t even edit with…

2★ · App Store · 2025-10-20

Membership fees have gotten outrageous — Hello, long time user here. I have had this app for probably almost ten years and have loved it for so long. I would use it almost all the time and the two major feature I would use were saving…

2★ · App Store · 2025-09-20

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions3
Photoleap SubscriptionTerm not stated$59.99
Photoleap SubscriptionTerm not stated$7.99
Photoleap SubscriptionTerm not stated$6.99
Show 7 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Unlimited AccessTerm not stated$39.99
Unlimited accessTerm not stated$7.99
Unlimited accessTerm not stated$6.99
Unlimited AccessTerm not stated$6.99
Photoleap unlimited accessTerm not stated$37.99
Unlimited accessTerm not stated$35.99
Photoleap unlimited accessTerm not stated$8.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 2.1243 independent signals1,417 reviews scannedConfidence: LowNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.