DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Pocket FM: Audio Dramas
Pocket FM Corp · Lifestyle

What’s the catch? Aggressive ad load — reported by 98 users.

Analyzed automatically from 3 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

1 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: Medium3 signal sources1,857 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

This analysis describes version 3.43.1 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 3.43.1, updated 2026-09-23.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 1

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
Reported by 98 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Raised by 98 distinct reviewers — 5.3% of the 1,857 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).

Context 1

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 0.99 to USD 19.99 — a 20x spread across 10 items

One source only — shown, not confirmed 2

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Reports that the ads misrepresent the app
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Misleading advertising: raised by 27 distinct reviewers (1.5% of 1857 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Price keeps rising
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The price of the paid tier has been raised on existing users.
What we saw: Price keeps rising: raised by 19 distinct reviewers (1.0% of 1857 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

Bait and switch- $500 to finish up series if you aren’t watching 4-12 ads each episode. — I loved this app. Suggested to friends. Then I got 300-500 chapters in, and only coins will unlock chapters. I’ve purchased coins a couple times…

1★ · App Store · 2026-10-03

Predatory — The most greediest app I have ever seen. They make it super hard for users on a budget. They have a ridiculous amount of ads. Like they ask you to watch 8 ads for 2 episodes. It doesn’t stop there either. They start you off…

2★ · App Store · 2026-10-03

Episodes are decreasing — There are a lot of good stories. I like the commercials that appear to pay for the application. There are not a lot. I would settle for one or two commercials a day. There are a good amount of episodes released…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-28

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

Bait and switch- $500 to finish up series if you aren’t watching 4-12 ads each episode. — I loved this app. Suggested to friends. Then I got 300-500 chapters in, and only coins will unlock chapters. I’ve purchased coins a couple times…

1★ · App Store · 2026-10-03

Disappointed — Love the ads but when you get the app the story does not continue. So you go to the story with the same title and it’s a different voice telling the story which has no chapters that coincide with the story you wanted to…

1★ · App Store · 2026-10-02

Scam — What I viewed on an advertisement is not the same when i downloaded the app

1★ · App Store · 2026-10-01

Price keeps rising

Pocket FM — Be careful when purchasing coins from Pocket FM. On September 24th or 25th, I purchased 170 coins for $9.99. Two days later I went to purchase more coins but notice they increased their price to $15.99 for 110 coins. I…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-27

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 8 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Buy coins worth $4.99Term not stated$4.99
Buy coins worth $0.99Term not stated$0.99
Buy coins worth $1.99Term not stated$1.99
Buy Coins Worth $0.99Term not stated$0.99
Buy coins worth $9.99Term not stated$9.99
Buy coins worth $19.99Term not stated$19.99
Buy Coins Worth $19.99Term not stated$19.99
Buy Coins Worth $4.99Term not stated$4.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 3.43.13 independent signals1,857 reviews scannedConfidence: MediumNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.