DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Pokémon GO
Scopely Explore, Inc. · Games

What’s the catch? Nothing we could corroborate against this app.

Analyzed automatically from 6 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

0 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: High6 signal sources2,253 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 0.431.1 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 0.431.1, updated 2026-10-02.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 0.431.0 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-05 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 0.431.0, updated 2026-09-25.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

Context 2

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Asks for more sensitive permissions than similar apps
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the app manifestartefact 29935786383b…
The package requests substantially more of the device's sensitive permissions than the typical app in its category. This is a measurement, not an accusation: a permission is granted because a feature needs it, and a wide request list is a reason to look rather than a finding on its own.
What we saw: Requests 7 sensitive permissions (ACCESS_BACKGROUND_LOCATION, ACCESS_COARSE_LOCATION, ACCESS_FINE_LOCATION, ACTIVITY_RECOGNITION, CAMERA, READ_CONTACTS, READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE); the median for 57 scanned apps in Adventure is 0
Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 0.99 to USD 99.99 — a 101x spread across 10 items

Positive evidence 2

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

No advertising SDKs
Measuredfrom SDKs in the app packageartefact 29935786383b…
No advertising or mediation SDK of any kind was found in the package.
What we saw: No advertising or mediation SDK among the 6 SDKs detected in the package
Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 4

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Tracking and data collection concerns
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The app ships session-recording or a wide tracking stack, holds permissions that read personal data, or is reported by users to sell, leak or over-collect it. The evidence line says which of those was observed.
What we saw: Data & privacy concerns: raised by 7 distinct reviewers (0.3% of 2153 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Pay to progress
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advancement or competition is gated behind spending money rather than playing.
What we saw: Pay to progress: raised by 31 distinct reviewers (1.4% of 2153 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 12 distinct reviewers (0.6% of 2153 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Price keeps rising
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The price of the paid tier has been raised on existing users.
What we saw: Price keeps rising: raised by 10 distinct reviewers (0.5% of 2153 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Pay to progress

It is a hard requirement to disable auto updates. This game is near entirely pay to play. Costs $2 to even attempt a raid, and then you play a minigame where you easily can run out of balls. $2 per try. Pay for your chance. Odds not…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-04

As of late, multiple network errors, crashes, and bugs. As with most mobile games, lots of pay-to-win mechanics. Bare bones gameplay, as well. If you really like Pokémon, just play the actual game instead of this watered down shell of a…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-04

Paywall blocks the basics

I'm done redownloading this joke, just for it to break a few months later. Scopely has taken away stuff that was free and locked it behind a pay walled event pass. With a new event pass every week, why would I buy any of them?

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-30

Just another soulless cash grab — Putting Giovanni behind a paywall is just another example of how shameless and scummy Niantic is. Why would anyone pay $5 for a 90% chance of getting a no star Pokemon? The events have become stale, too…

1★ · App Store · 2026-10-03

Price keeps rising

been playing since the game was released, however I am extremely disappointed since scopely took over. they are removing good features and ruining events and raising prices for less rewards. they do not care about their players only their…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-02

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 10 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

100 PokéCoinsTerm not stated$0.99
550 PokéCoinsTerm not stated$4.99
1,200 PokéCoinsTerm not stated$9.99
2,500 PokéCoinsTerm not stated$19.99
Event BonusTerm not stated$0.99
5,200 PokéCoinsTerm not stated$39.99
Event TicketTerm not stated$4.99
Evergreen Ticket 1Term not stated$1.99
TicketTerm not stated$4.99
14,500 PokéCoinsTerm not stated$99.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 0.431.1 (App Store), 0.431.0 (Google Play)6 independent signals2,253 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.