DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Quizlet: More than Flashcards
Quizlet Inc · Education

What’s the catch? Paywall blocks the basics — reported by 54 users.

Analyzed automatically from 6 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

1 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: Medium6 signal sources2,622 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 10.55 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 10.55, updated 2026-10-05.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 10.54 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 10.54, updated 2026-10-05.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 1

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
Reported by 54 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Raised by 54 distinct reviewers — 2.7% of the 2,000 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 4

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Aggressive ad load: raised by 17 distinct reviewers (0.9% of 2000 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Trial converts to a charge
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The free trial demands a payment method up front and/or rolls into a paid subscription with no usable warning.
What we saw: Trial converts to a charge: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (0.3% of 2000 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Pay to progress
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advancement or competition is gated behind spending money rather than playing.
What we saw: Pay to progress: raised by 6 distinct reviewers (0.3% of 2000 reviews scanned)
In the app's own text: A plan is pre-picked as 'recommended'
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is the app's own on-screen text.artefact 0145a7620951…
The purchase screen arrives with one plan already framed as the recommended or most popular choice, so the default is the app's preference rather than the user's. We do not compare the plans' prices, and only the app's own text evidences this, so it is shown, but never counted as a charge.
What we saw: Purchase screen steers the choice: "Best value"

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Paywall blocks the basics

I'm so annoyed! I was living this app because it had a feature where it would generate flashcards from an image. So I was able to create a flashcard set from taking a picture of a list of vocabulary. Now that feature is gone! I thought…

2★ · Google Play · 2026-08-11

you have to pay to do anything

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-16

locks so much behind a paywall that I might as well spend an hour whipping up a slightly worse version of it without the ui in java

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-03

Aggressive ad load

it's helping me study but I can't do much without being bombarded with quizlet plus and ads 🫩 the user interface is also inconvenient

2★ · Google Play · 2026-08-11

too many ads

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-02

Ads — There are too many ads

3★ · App Store · 2026-10-02

Trial converts to a charge

OVERCHARGED without a free trial. — Do NOT purchase a subscription in the app. If need be do it in the website. The app advertised a 7 day free trial for the $45 annual subscription, it in fact did NOT give me a free trial and also…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-31

Misleading Trial Subscription — The app is solid and deserves a higher rating, but there is an obviously intentional dark UX pattern in the trial subscription process. You promise a 3-day free trial, but once the subscription is…

2★ · App Store · 2026-08-31

Dark Patterns — Signed up for a free trial and instantly got charged the annual fee despite canceling 5 days later. This app is used by students who can't spend this much on flashcards. I will be switching to anki

1★ · App Store · 2026-07-23

Pay to progress

I mean, it's good, but lowk p2w

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-22

Pay to win — App is close to useless unless you pay for premium

3★ · App Store · 2026-09-20

Bad job — P2w

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-18

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 5 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Quizlet PlusTerm not stated$9.99
Quizlet PlusTerm not stated$44.99
Quizlet Plus Unlimited Term not stated$44.99
Quizlet TeacherTerm not stated$35.99
Quizlet GoTerm not stated$44.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 10.55 (App Store), 10.54 (Google Play)6 independent signals2,622 reviews scannedConfidence: MediumNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.