DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Settlemate: Claim Savings
Settlemate Inc · Finance

What’s the catch? Reports of unexpected charges — reported by 32 users.

Analyzed automatically from 3 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

1 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: Medium3 signal sources530 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-04
 Which version this describes

This analysis describes version 4.5.6 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-04 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 4.5.6, updated 2026-09-29.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 1

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Reported by users: Reports of unexpected charges
Reported by 32 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
A large number of reviewers report being charged when they did not expect it — including being charged after cancelling during a free trial, or when a trial turned into a paid plan without warning. We cannot see anyone's billing, so this is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Raised by 32 distinct reviewers — 6.0% of the 530 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).

Context 1

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 1.99 to USD 64.99 — a 33x spread across 10 items

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Tracking and data collection concerns
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The app ships session-recording or a wide tracking stack, holds permissions that read personal data, or is reported by users to sell, leak or over-collect it. The evidence line says which of those was observed.
What we saw: Data & privacy concerns: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (0.9% of 530 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports that the ads misrepresent the app
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Misleading advertising: raised by 16 distinct reviewers (3.0% of 530 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 8 distinct reviewers (1.5% of 530 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Reports of unexpected charges

Scam — I never qualified for any claims that this app offered and their Money Back Guarantee is a lie!! They did not refund me back. This is how they scam people.

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-21

stole my money — app took my money from me, i received no payments from any settlements over the year and they would not refund me even though it said they would reimburse me if I did not make more than the subscription fee within the…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-16

Scam alert! — I had this out for a whole year not one single claim was processed. I applied for a few one was supposed to be completed and was never paid out. I canceled this subscription, but for some reason it’s still charged for a…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-11

Tracking and data collection concerns

Misleading Data Harvesting — If you want to have companies collect and harvest your data this is the way to do it!

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-07

Overpriced, spent more than I gained, probably a scam. — To start, is a very expensive subscription. I wasn’t eligible for any claims through the app. The few that I was eligible for redirected me outside the app to a web browser where I…

1★ · App Store · 2026-07-28

Absolute Garbage — You can find this info out yourself. They show you options then link you externally anyway and require you to provide way too many personal details. Data breach waiting to happen.

1★ · App Store · 2026-04-17

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

Fraud/Scam — I was suckered! Originally there was a money back guarantee if you don't earn back your yearly membership within 12 months you receive your money back. A year has comes around, the Apple phone does not allow a refund and when…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-26

The cost: $40/yr or $20/mo — They ask you to rate them just before they show you the cost, which is listed in the title. I don’t appreciate that, feels like a bait and switch.

2★ · App Store · 2026-09-09

Deceptive advertising — This app is essentially just a list of class action lawsuits. It directs you to external site application where you have to file there. Very deceptive advertising.

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-29

Paywall blocks the basics

TAKES ALL YOUR PERSONAL INFO THEN HIDES IT BEHIND PAYWALL! — title

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-05

Account Created Now Locked Behind Paywall — I heard about this app from social media only to create an account and see that it requires a subscription. Not worth it to me but now I can’t delete the account because it’s behind said…

1★ · App Store · 2026-07-05

Need it to be at the top — I find it annoying i can’t delete my account since the app is locked behind a subscription so i can’t even access my account or my info. It’s just sketchy.

5★ · App Store · 2026-07-04

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions3
Settlemate Referral AnnualYearly$39.99
Settlemate SubscriptionTerm not stated$15.99
Settlemate SubscriptionTerm not stated$39.99
Show 6 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Privacy ProtectTerm not stated$3.99
Bank Connections (3 banks)Term not stated$1.99
Bank Connections (5 banks)Term not stated$18.99
Bank Connections (3 banks)Term not stated$12.99
Bank Connections (5 banks)Term not stated$2.99
Bank Connections (10 banks)Term not stated$64.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-04 Version analyzed: 4.5.63 independent signals530 reviews scannedConfidence: MediumNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.