DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
SmartLife: Smart Living
Volcano Technology Limited · Lifestyle

What’s the catch? Multiple ad networks bundled — measured, backed by SDKs in the app package.

Analyzed automatically from 6 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

2 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: High6 signal sources1,465 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 7.11.6 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 7.11.6, updated 2026-09-17.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 7.11.6 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 7.11.6, updated 2026-09-30.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 2

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Multiple ad networks bundled
Measuredfrom SDKs in the app packageartefact f52203944710…
The package embeds several distinct advertising or mediation SDKs — a stack built for ad volume, not for a single house ad.
What we saw: Bundles 3 distinct ad networks / mediation SDKs: Google Mobile Ads (AdMob / Ad Manager), Meta Audience Network, Pangle (ByteDance)
Aggressive ad load
2 independent sources agreefrom user reviews and the app's own on-screen textartefact f52203944710…
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Progress is gated behind watching an ad: "Watch ad to get"

Context 1

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 2.99 to USD 79.00 — a 26x spread across 10 items

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Tracking and data collection concerns
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The app ships session-recording or a wide tracking stack, holds permissions that read personal data, or is reported by users to sell, leak or over-collect it. The evidence line says which of those was observed.
What we saw: Data & privacy concerns: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (0.7% of 767 reviews scanned)
In the app's own text: Hard to cancel
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is the app's own on-screen text.artefact f52203944710…
Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.
What we saw: Sells a subscription in-app but ships no cancel or manage-subscription text of its own, leaving the store's settings as the only exit
In the app's own text: Trial terms not stated in the app's own text
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is the app's own on-screen text.artefact f52203944710…
The app's own screens offer a free trial without stating, beside it, what happens when the trial ends. Read this as context rather than as a charge: renewal terms are normally shown on the store's purchase sheet instead, which we cannot see, and we can only observe one kind of evidence for this — so it is shown, but never counted as a charge.
What we saw: Offers a free trial ("Free Trial of Smart Life") with no renewal price, renewal date or auto-renew notice anywhere in the app's own text

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

full of ads that filing screen on top and bottom, too distracting and accidental touches occurs as the screen shifts randomly.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-03

Terrible. I regret buying their bulbs now. I just wanted lights that I could turn on with my phone before I got home. At first things worked good. Even scheduling them work flawlessly. The only complaint would have been that if the power…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-15

too many ads! I don't need my garage door opener sending me notifications about the next sale.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-15

Tracking and data collection concerns

Showing ads, inacceptable. Besdies that the app keeps requesting location permission for any interaction although not needed and I don't want to grant that permission. in dark mode, device metrics are showing with white background. is no…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-16

Bloated app full of ads — This app use to be fantastic. No it is full of ads and sells your data. Be careful!!

1★ · App Store · 2026-07-20

Junk now — Worked for years without issue. Now the update harvests all my data but doesn’t make the devices function. Had to chuck all their stuff away and buy again. Stay away.

1★ · App Store · 2025-10-13

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions9
30-Day AI Protect Pro Plan(Weekly)Weekly$2.99
14-Day Storage Plan (Monthly)Monthly$5.99
30-Day Storage Plan (Monthly)Monthly$9.99
Monthly SubscriptionMonthly$2.99
AI Lighting Master MonthlyMonthly$2.99
3-Device 14-Day Plan (Monthly)Monthly$12.99
14-Day Smart Storage Plan(Monthly)Monthly$7.99
30-Day Smart Storage Plan(Monthly)Monthly$11.99
HeyTuya YearlyYearly$79.00
Show 1 more purchase we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

basicTerm not stated$9.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 7.11.6 (App Store), 7.11.6 (Google Play)6 independent signals1,465 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.