DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Ultimate Guitar: Chords & Tabs
Ultimate Guitar · Lifestyle

Analyzed automatically. Assessed 2026-10-06 from 717 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

Analyzed automaticallyConfidence: High3 signal sources717 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 7.3.32 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 7.3.32, updated 2026-10-05.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 7.3.30 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-04 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 7.3.31, updated 2026-10-02.

The app has been updated since this analysis. The findings on this page describe version 7.3.30, not the version now listed on the store.

Release notes for the newer versions, in the developer’s own words:

Version 7.3.31 · 2026-10-02

No release notes were provided for this version.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 4

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Aggressive ad load: raised by 21 distinct reviewers (3.1% of 667 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Hard to cancel
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.
What we saw: Hard to cancel: raised by 6 distinct reviewers (0.9% of 667 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (1.3% of 667 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Upgrade prompts use guilt-trip wording
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Declining an upgrade is written as a loss ('No thanks, I don't want to improve'), or users report being repeatedly pushed to subscribe during normal use.
What we saw: Constant upsell pressure: raised by 11 distinct reviewers (1.6% of 667 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

Updating -are you ever going to fix your dog$#it app??? Removing user created tabs that have been up for years to push your "pro" BS? users clearly don't want the surveys an adds. forcing me to watch ads Everytime I open the app is a sure…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-18

I have never left a negative review like this, but this is genuinely the worst app I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Immediately it makes you complete this stupid sign up quiz about your interests with NO skip option and…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-16

You can't just open the app and look up a tab without ads or going through their setup workflow (no skip option). Features are pay walled behind a subscription. I bought the paid app years ago for like $8 to unlock features and no ads…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-09

Hard to cancel

I've paid for the premium pro version for years. I was a loyal user. They keep your credit card info, and they will charge you through auto renewal. I wasn't using the app much, so I decided to cancel. You can't cancel on the app or on…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-11

You dont get much for the initial subscription. Impossible to cancel. It doesnt let you through the website. SCAM. The response makes it feel like a bigger SCAM. Bot response👎🏾

1★ · Google Play · 2026-08-23

this app doesn't appear on your Play Store so you can't remove the subscription. I had to pay £39 even if I never used because there was no way to cancel the subscription!!! this is a shame!!! and I don't know how to ask my money back for…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-29

Paywall blocks the basics

I used to use this app and loved it, recently reinstalled it and feels like I'm going to be immediately subscribed to paid free trial if I click continue. Disgusting and disguised daylight thievery in my opinion. I'll just use the desktop…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-21

others have said it better than I can but the sheer amount of ads you face just moving from tab to tab is super irritating. also, things like auto scroll or transposing that used to be free are now premium features. It shows you where the…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-09

The app locks nearly everything behind a 10$ monthly paywall, if you want to look at tabs good luck because you CANNOT without paying first. They have very few free to see tabs (not just chord things) don't even bother installing the app…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-27

Upgrade prompts use guilt-trip wording

constantly asking you to pay

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-19

one of the most greedy app I've ever used, every single small feature isn't accessible without paying, and every 3 second they gave you a pop up to pay for a membership 😂

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-15

terrible app. CONSTANTLY begs you to pay for a subscription. terrible tabs. makes you do a useless survey. the free version is not only incredibly limited but also slow and unresponsive.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-07

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions3
UG Pro+ (1 Month)Monthly$9.99
Annual Pro AccessYearly$29.99
UG Pro+ (1 Year)Yearly$39.99
Show 5 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Ultimate Guitar Pro SaleTerm not stated$22.99
Ultimate Guitar ProTerm not stated$39.99
Ultimate Guitar ProTerm not stated$9.99
Ultimate Guitar Pro SaleTerm not stated$9.99
Ultimate Guitar Pro SaleTerm not stated$29.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 7.3.32 (App Store), 7.3.30 (Google Play)3 independent signals717 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.