DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
VSCO: Photo & Video Editor
Visual Supply Company · Photo & Video

What’s the catch? Aggressive ad load — reported by 43 users.

Analyzed automatically from 3 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

1 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: Low3 signal sources512 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-07
 Which version this describes

This analysis describes version 461.9.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-07 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 461.9.0, updated 2026-09-24.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 1

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Reported by users: Aggressive ad load
Reported by 43 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.
What we saw: Raised by 43 distinct reviewers — 8.4% of the 512 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).

One source only — shown, not confirmed 2

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 22 distinct reviewers (4.3% of 512 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Price keeps rising
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The price of the paid tier has been raised on existing users.
What we saw: Price keeps rising: raised by 15 distinct reviewers (2.9% of 512 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Aggressive ad load

Full page ads ruined the experience — -

1★ · App Store · 2025-12-26

Ads ruined experience — I used to love VSCO and used it to post on more than instagram. But the ads have completely ruined the experience and I don’t even want to scroll on my feed anymore. It reloads after each ad, meaning you have to…

1★ · App Store · 2025-12-20

Way too many ads… — You can only slide 4 pictures at a time and then an ad that makes you sit and load pops up. Honestly went from a great app to barely worth spending time on.

1★ · App Store · 2025-12-10

Paywall blocks the basics

disappointed long time user — my last rating was 3 stars. ive been using vsco since 2015. got so popular when tumblr died and was using it like crazy in 2021. i still use it, but got on today to see not only has brightness been taken…

1★ · App Store · 2026-07-25

Downhill — Gradually getting worse. Everything is behind a paywall now, even filters that used to be free. Not worth it anymore.

2★ · App Store · 2026-07-08

Gone downhill — This app used to be amazing. Now it’s just like every other app obsessed with making everything about AI while putting everything behind a paywall. Time to leave this app behind.

1★ · App Store · 2026-05-17

Price keeps rising

price increase — this app is glitchy AF. also NO ONE ASKED FOR AI. now the price increase. gonna delete this app and find something else. congrats.

2★ · App Store · 2026-04-29

Was my go to app — Simultaneously the software became buggier (especially with video) and they jacked up their prices by literally double. It would be one thing if they had added value instead of bugs. Then insult to injury they hid even…

2★ · App Store · 2026-04-17

video exports are dark. stop making it worse. — I have been a paying user of VSCO for years, but price increase without adding new features or updating the old ones that don’t work?? like how videos export dark?? now my photos are…

1★ · App Store · 2026-03-29

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions4
Monthly PlusMonthly$9.99
Monthly ProMonthly$14.99
Yearly PlusYearly$39.99
Yearly ProYearly$69.99
One-off packs1
Distortia PackPack$0.00
Show 4 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

The Aesthetic SeriesTerm not stated$0.00
Hypebeast / HBTerm not stated$0.00
Krochet Kids intl.Term not stated$0.00
We the CreatorsTerm not stated$0.00
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-07 Version analyzed: 461.9.03 independent signals512 reviews scannedConfidence: LowNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.