DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Zutobi: Permit & Driving Prep
Zutobi AB · Education

Analyzed automatically. Assessed 2026-10-06 from 926 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

Analyzed automaticallyConfidence: High3 signal sources926 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-06
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 4.5.85 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 4.5.85, updated 2026-09-28.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 4.5.85 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-04 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 4.5.85, updated 2026-09-25.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

Positive evidence 1

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 4

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Trial converts to a charge
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The free trial demands a payment method up front and/or rolls into a paid subscription with no usable warning.
What we saw: Trial converts to a charge: raised by 12 distinct reviewers (2.3% of 512 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports that the ads misrepresent the app
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Misleading advertising: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (1.0% of 512 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 14 distinct reviewers (2.7% of 512 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports of unexpected charges
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
A large number of reviewers report being charged when they did not expect it — including being charged after cancelling during a free trial, or when a trial turned into a paid plan without warning. We cannot see anyone's billing, so this is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Surprise charges: raised by 21 distinct reviewers (4.1% of 512 reviews scanned)

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Trial converts to a charge

I signed up for a free trial that was supposed to last 3 days and they charged me a week's amount. they say there is a no refund policy but I will be calling tomorrow to complain.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-20

Refund Issues — I downloaded the app “Zutobi” expecting a free trial, but after the three days I was unfortunately charged $7.99 plus tax. I tried to resolve the issue with Apple Support and somehow they also couldn’t provide a refund or…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-13

Can’t get out of this “free trial” thing — Based on everyone else here experiencing this, I’m so glad I didn’t even considered purchasing this 3 day free trial as it appears folks have cancelled it and still are being charged! THIEVES!

1★ · App Store · 2026-07-26

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

Not free — It advertises as if it is a free driving test app but when you actually get into it, it won’t let you start none of the lessons until you pay. Don’t waste your money.

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-15

Misleading ‘Free’ App Advertising — Advertised as a free app, but you can’t actually use it without being pushed into a subscription/free trial immediately. There’s no clear option to continue for free, which feels misleading and…

1★ · App Store · 2026-06-04

False Advertising — Keeps trying to charge me 2 dollars to download it even though it’s free

4★ · App Store · 2026-05-25

Paywall blocks the basics

If I could write less stars I would. you cant do anything in the app without paying for something.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-08-29

I had it at a 5. But on the first lesson in the module, I was only able to do a couple of questions, and then the last two I couldn't do. You have to pay for premium just to any of the tests. Worst app ever. Couldn't even practice or…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-08-14

locked behind a subscription. most people trying to learn how to drive are presumably teenagers with no job, so why is there a paywall for people that dont got no money??

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-14

Reports of unexpected charges

the app itself is fine however I am still being charged $7.99 a week and I've already canceled it through Google Play and I can't cancel it again because it's already canceled I've paid $7.99 twice after I've canceled. I don't know how to…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-24

still taking my money while my card is locked after I Uninstalled this app

1★ · Google Play · 2026-08-31

I signed up for a free trial that was supposed to last 3 days and they charged me a week's amount. they say there is a no refund policy but I will be calling tomorrow to complain.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-20

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 9 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Zutobi PLUSTerm not stated$7.99
Zutobi PLUSTerm not stated$4.99
California DMV PrepTerm not stated$4.99
Zutobi PLUSTerm not stated$5.99
New York DMV prepTerm not stated$4.99
Texas DMV prepTerm not stated$4.99
Florida DMV prepTerm not stated$4.99
Georgia DMV prepTerm not stated$4.99
Ohio DMV prepTerm not stated$4.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-06 Version analyzed: 4.5.85 (App Store), 4.5.85 (Google Play)3 independent signals926 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.