Amino: AI Calorie Tracker

Eat Better. Live Healthier.

Fitcoin
App Store rating4.8★5K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $8.99–$106.99
Age4+Store age rating
Size111 MBiPhone download
CategoryHealth & Fitness
DeveloperFitcoin

What we found

Full report

Some warnings 5 users report the basics being behind a paywall. Nothing confirmed. Checked: 138 reviews, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

  • Free to download · in-app purchases $8.99–$106.99 (8 listed; the App Store shows at most 10). The store doesn’t say how often these bill.
  • If you subscribe through the store, cancel in iPhone Settings → your name → Subscriptions. Deleting the app doesn’t cancel a subscription.

Paywalls and prices

From our automated analysis, 27 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 1.7.6 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-27 .

The store currently lists version 1.7.6, updated 2026-10-12.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

THE ULTIMATE AI FOOD & FITNESS TRACKER

Amino is the easiest (and most fun) calorie tracking app! Snap a photo or scan a barcode, and let our AI do the rest. See the nutritional breakdown, check the Health Score, then log it and keep going! Track your steps & activities, participate in fun daily challenges, and earn real rewards.

Plus, Amino is LOADED with features to help you reach your health goals:

- Log Meals with AI

- Track Steps & Activities

- Barcode Scanner

- Personal AI Coach

- Detailed Nutrition Info

- Health Score

- Intermittent Fasting

- Water Tracking

- Streak Bonuses

- Personal Nutrition Insights

- Fun Daily Challenges

- Weekly Contests

- Monthly Sweepstakes

- and more!

Download Amino for FREE and join the 150,000+ happy users that have logged 6.5+ million meals!

Have a question? Email us at [email protected]…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

0 published · 1 shown, not confirmed

One source only — shown, not confirmed 1

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Paywall blocks the basics

One source only

Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 28 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
3.6% of the 138 reviews read.

Nothing was published as a thing to watch for in this assessment. That is not a finding that nothing is wrong with the app.

What reviewers report

138 reviews read · 1 review-based observation

138 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Paywall blocks the basics

Shown, not confirmed

He used to be good. I officially hate it — When they had less, and they gave less to the consumer of the app, I’ve been using it loyalty since the beginning, I even created my first real review on this app at the time, I believed it was…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-02

Weekly caloric tracker — I have used this app over a couple of months and I am very fond of the features it has. However, the recent update added a paywall onto some of the basic features an app should have like telling your average…

3★ · App Store · 2026-08-28

No longer good — Can’t get the app to work at all. It used to be free. Now I’m getting a paywall for everything. Looks like I’ll be deleting this app soon.

2★ · App Store · 2026-08-10

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

5 measured · 3 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description doesn’t say how to cancel (most don’t)
Themes reported by reviewers
1 theme reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
80–89% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

No package has been scanned for this app, so nothing is published about what it ships. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding.

Sensitive permissions
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 27 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 1.7.6 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-27 .

The store currently lists version 1.7.6, updated 2026-10-12.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 1.7.6 · 2026-10-12
- Keep your streak going with a smoother, more reliable Amino

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
amino
Assessment date
27 Oct 2026
Sources used
3 independent signals: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
138
Package examined
No package scan
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-27 from 138 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-27 Version analyzed: 1.7.63 independent signals138 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.

Store facts

App Store

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.81 ★ · 5,019 ratings
Version
1.7.6
Updated
12 Oct 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
111 MB
Open in App Store
Developer
Fitcoin
Category
Health & Fitness
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 8 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Amino ProTerm not stated$8.99
Amino ProTerm not stated$21.99
Amino ProTerm not stated$28.99
Amino ProTerm not stated$24.99
Amino ProTerm not stated$32.99
Amino ProTerm not stated$9.99
Amino ProTerm not stated$94.99
Amino ProTerm not stated$106.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.