Ascension: Deckbuilding Game

Board

Playdek, Inc.
App Store rating3.4★1.1K ratings
Google Play rating3.7★17K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $0.99–$1.99
Age9+ · 4+App Store · Google Play
Size1,299 MBiPhone download
CategoryGames
DeveloperPlaydek, Inc.

What we found

Full report

Some warnings 2 things we found but could not confirm. Nothing confirmed. Checked: 400 reviews, the Android app’s code, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

From our automated analysis, 30 Oct 2026.

This analysis describes version 2.5.3 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-30 .

The store currently lists version 2.5.4, updated 2026-10-19.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

***Legends Expansion Now Available!**

Return to the world of Vigil as the Muses of Malevolence rise to bring ruin. Legendary Heroes from Ascension’s past have returned to guide you, granting their power to those who prove worthy.

Each card you acquire or defeat grants Renown with its factions, advancing you on the Legendary Track. As your Renown grows, unlock powerful Boons from Legendary Characters and, at the pinnacle of a faction’s track, gain Legendary status with the power to acquire or defeat one card from that faction for free each turn.

Ascension: Deck Building Game, is the award winning deck building card game for mobile. Play alone or with friends to battle against the Fallen One for honor and victory.…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

1 published · 3 shown, not confirmed

Positives 1

Specific evidence of a useful property, within the stated scope.

Developer says data deletion can be requested

Measured

The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

Sources
The store listing
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
From the Google Play listing
Definition

The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.

Open evidence

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Paywall with no way past it

One source only

Ships a purchase screen ("Request to restore purchases finished successfully.") with no dismiss, skip or "continue free" text anywhere in the package

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

A paywall screen ships with no dismiss, skip or 'maybe later' affordance anywhere in the package, so the app's own text offers no way in without paying.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:5c741155fd096e6fe64c2ed54107c08962fbf38ca9f252d3d0115ea8a223907b

Hard to cancel

One source only

Sells a subscription in-app but ships no cancel or manage-subscription text of its own, leaving the store's settings as the only exit

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:5c741155fd096e6fe64c2ed54107c08962fbf38ca9f252d3d0115ea8a223907b

Usable without an account

One source only

The app's own text says: "Back"

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The app's own screens offer a way past sign-up — guest access, skipping, or browsing before registering — rather than gating the product behind an account. The store's privacy disclosure is checked alongside it: that disclosure is self-reported, so it corroborates this credit rather than establishing it.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:5c741155fd096e6fe64c2ed54107c08962fbf38ca9f252d3d0115ea8a223907b

Nothing was published as a thing to watch for in this assessment. That is not a finding that nothing is wrong with the app.

What reviewers report

400 reviews read · 0 review-based observations

No review-based observation is published in this assessment. That does not establish that reviewers had no problems.

Measurements

8 measured · 0 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to at least 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description doesn’t say how to cancel (most don’t)
Themes reported by reviewers
No theme reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
Under 65% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

Android package 2.5.3, scanned 30 Oct 2026. These describe that package, not the current store version.

Sensitive permissions
1–2 requested
Counted against a fixed list of eighteen sensitive Android permissions: sixteen runtime permissions, among them location, camera, microphone, contacts and SMS, and two the user must switch on in system settings, drawing over other apps and usage access. Requesting one is not itself a finding.
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
1–2 found
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
1–2 found
Counted as distinct SDKs in the package we scanned. One mediation bundle can contribute several, so this is not a count of advertisers.
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 30 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 2.5.3 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-30 .

The store currently lists version 2.5.4, updated 2026-10-19.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 2.5.3.531 · 2026-05-15
Introducing the all-new Promo Pack 7 for Ascension! Expand your strategy with fresh cards and unlock new synergies. Harness Spire of the Wind to transform your discard pile into powerful card draw, and leverage Seed of the World to extract even more value from the Center Row—unlocking dynamic combos and new paths to victory! Cards Included: Monster: Puggageddon Enlightened: Spire of the Wind Lifebound: Seed of the World Mechana: Chaotic Cannon Void: The Aethermourne

Google Play

Version 2.5.4 · 2026-10-19

No release notes were provided for this version.

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
ascension-apple-441838733
Assessment date
30 Oct 2026
Sources used
6 independent signals: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
400
Package examined
Android · 2.5.3 · scanned 30 Oct 2026
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-30 from 400 user reviews, the app's package, the store listing and its privacy label.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-30 Version analyzed: 2.5.36 independent signals400 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.14Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.

Store facts

App Store · Google Play

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
3.44 ★ · 1,109 ratings
Version
2.5.3.531
Updated
15 May 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
9+
Size
1,299 MB
Open in App Store

Google Play

Store rating
3.69 ★ · 17,043 ratings
Version
2.5.4
Updated
19 Oct 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
Not supplied
Open in Google Play
Developer
Playdek, Inc.
Category
Games
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices. The list below covers the other store only.
One-off packs2
Promo Pack 1Pack$0.99
Ascension Promo Cards - Pack 4Pack$0.99
Show 8 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Return of the Fallen expansionTerm not stated$1.99
Storm of Souls expansionTerm not stated$0.99
Rise of VigilTerm not stated$0.99
Darkness Unleashed expansionTerm not stated$0.99
Realms Unraveled expansionTerm not stated$0.99
DreamscapeTerm not stated$0.99
Dawn of ChampionsTerm not stated$0.99
Immortal Heroes expansionTerm not stated$0.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every recurring plan the store lists is named as weekly, the term read from the purchase names, with a list cut off at the store’s 10-item maximum not assessed; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.