Color Widgets

Custom Themes, Icons, Quotes…

Digital Charms, Inc.
App Store rating4.6★527.3K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $4.99–$49.99
Age9+Store age rating
Size159 MBiPhone download
CategoryUtilities

What we found

Full report

Some warnings 16 users report an aggressive ad load; 5 users report the basics being behind a paywall. Nothing confirmed. Checked: 500 reviews, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

  • Free to download · in-app purchases $4.99–$49.99 (7 listed; the App Store shows at most 10). The store doesn’t say how often these bill.
  • If you subscribe through the store, cancel in iPhone Settings → your name → Subscriptions. Deleting the app doesn’t cancel a subscription.

Paywalls and prices

Ads

From our automated analysis, 26 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 9.0.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-26 .

The store currently lists version 9.0.0, updated 2026-09-15.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Color Widgets makes it simple to add aesthetic and handy widgets to your Home Screen and Lock Screen. Browse thousands of predesigned widgets or, better yet, design your own with the easy-to-use widget customizer. Color Widgets doesn't just stop at widgets... you can also discover endless icon packs, themes, and wallpapers to perfectly match your aesthetic and interests. From customizing your widgets to changing your app icons and wallpaper, Color Widgets is THE destination to transform your device.

UNLIMITED WIDGETS

Customize each widget with no limits by adding photos, selecting styles, editing fonts, crafting a unique color scheme, and so much more.…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

0 published · 3 shown, not confirmed

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Aggressive ad load

One source only

Aggressive ad load: raised by 16 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 31 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
3.2% of the 500 reviews read.

Paywall blocks the basics

One source only

Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 100 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
1.0% of the 500 reviews read.

Users describe the free version as usable

One source only

Reviewers describe the free version as usable: raised by 6 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 83 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Reviewers repeatedly say the free version is worth using on its own. Nothing we can measure corroborates that — a free listing with in-app purchases looks identical whether the free tier is generous or a demo — so this is published as what reviewers say, not as a measured credit.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
1.2% of the 500 reviews read.

Nothing was published as a thing to watch for in this assessment. That is not a finding that nothing is wrong with the app.

What reviewers report

500 reviews read · 3 review-based observations

500 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Aggressive ad load

Shown, not confirmed

LOVE IT!!!🥰 — It is so fun and easy to make a really cute wallpaper. it doesn’t cost any money unless you want to buy pro and there isn’t that many ads and there is really cute widgets that I love and you get inspirations. I love this…

4★ · App Store · 2026-10-15

I personally LOVE IT — I love it! One thing that you have to watch so MANY adds! And me and my Latina besties don't like it so lowkey fix and make it happen bye Latina besties make sure to clock it!

4★ · App Store · 2026-10-12

Not good — It's a good app but ever since my phone updated it hasn't worked the same. It makes me watch an excessive amount of ads. I would not recommend this app.

2★ · App Store · 2026-10-01

Paywall blocks the basics

Shown, not confirmed

Uhhh stuff isn’t free no more — Ok so basically everything now is pro and you can’t even change the picture now because it’s pro.. and it used to be free but now it’s not

2★ · App Store · 2026-10-11

U HAVE TO PAY FOR EVERYTHING — As the title states this app is horrible u either have to have pro for everything or u have to watch an add also it doesn’t make adding app icons easier

1★ · App Store · 2026-07-18

Why I don’t like this app — First of all to change the color of your apps you have to pay. And you have to pay for everything else that you want so yeah🙄😡😡

2★ · App Store · 2026-07-10

Users describe the free version as usable

Shown, not confirmed

Awesome — I love that you don’t have to pay for all of them like other apps but beginners do have to get the hang of it so I think they should add a little guide on the corner or something for non-familiar or different size widgets

3★ · App Store · 2026-09-27

Icon — I love this so I love the wallpapers and widgets but I can’t download shortcuts so I can’t use the icons and I’m a iPhone so if you can suggest a app that I don’t have to pay for and I can do custom icons? If not can you make…

4★ · App Store · 2026-07-29

READ IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!! — I am here to inform you that if you are looking for a amazing app to change widgets or app colors, this is the app for you. I was looking for an app to spice up my Home Screen and I, to be honest- wasn’t going to…

5★ · App Store · 2026-07-29

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

5 measured · 3 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description lists a price and how often it bills
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description doesn’t say how to cancel (most don’t)
Themes reported by reviewers
2 themes reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
65–79% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

No package has been scanned for this app, so nothing is published about what it ships. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding.

Sensitive permissions
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 26 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 9.0.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-26 .

The store currently lists version 9.0.0, updated 2026-09-15.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 9.0.0 · 2026-09-15
● New iOS 27 XL Widget Size ● New Highlighted Quote Widgets ● Refreshed Widget Designs ● New Framed Widgets ● New Unserious Quotes ● New Lock Screen Lunar Widgets If you're enjoying Color Widgets, please consider leaving a review.

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
color-widgets
Assessment date
26 Oct 2026
Sources used
3 independent signals: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
500
Package examined
No package scan
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-26 from 500 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-26 Version analyzed: 9.0.03 independent signals500 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.

Store facts

App Store

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.60 ★ · 527,327 ratings
Version
9.0.0
Updated
15 Sep 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
9+
Size
159 MB
Open in App Store
Developer
Digital Charms, Inc.
Category
Utilities
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 7 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Color Widgets ProTerm not stated$6.99
Color Widgets ProTerm not stated$29.99
Color Widgets ProTerm not stated$4.99
Color Widgets ProTerm not stated$34.99
Color Widgets ProTerm not stated$49.99
Color Widgets ProTerm not stated$21.99
Color Widgets ProTerm not stated$24.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.