Cracking the Cryptic

Curated Sudoku Puzzles

Nick Carney
App Store rating4.4★210 ratings
Google Play rating4.1★995 ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $0.99–$4.99
Age4+Store age rating
Size246 MBiPhone download
CategoryGames
DeveloperNick Carney

What we found

Full report

Too little checked to say Only reviews have been read so far (309 reviews). The app itself hasn’t been analysed.

Money

From review signals only, 30 Oct 2026.

App Store. The store currently lists version 1.2.36, updated 2026-05-27.

Google Play. The store currently lists version 1.2.36, updated 2026-05-26.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

OUR NEWEST PACK – CLASSIC VOLUME #2!

Classic sudoku is where it all began, and there is still lots of skill to be deployed to solve classic puzzles, and new techniques to be explored.

Nikoli, the Japanese puzzle house, named and popularised sudoku from 1984, and we have commissioned 20 puzzles from them for this Classic Sudoku 2 app. We have also created 20 ourselves, and sourced 20 more from Sam Cappleman-Lynes, the brilliant British sudoku expert. The result is a wonderful 60-puzzle pack which will delight and challenge you.

--------------------

Welcome to the brand new Sudoku app from the most popular Sudoku channel, Cracking The Cryptic.

Unlike other Sudoku apps, we feature handcrafted and curated puzzles from the world’s best Sudoku constructors. Each collection features puzzles made by various authors that are now familiar names to those who follow the channel.…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

No findings published
No findings are published for this listing. These are review signals, not findings: nothing here is an assessment.

No recurring theme reached our reporting threshold in the reviews we scanned.

What reviewers report

309 reviews read · 0 review signals

309 reviews scanned. These are signals from public reviews, not findings. Nothing here is an assessment.

No recurring theme reached our reporting threshold in the reviews we scanned. That does not establish that reviewers had no problems.

Measurements

5 measured · 3 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description doesn’t say how to cancel (most don’t)
Themes reported by reviewers
No theme reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
Under 65% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

No package has been scanned for this app, so nothing is published about what it ships. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding.

Sensitive permissions
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Review signals only

Review signals only. No automated analysis of the app itself has been run, so there is no analysed version to report; the signals were read from public reviews on 30 Oct 2026.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 1.2.36 · 2026-05-27
The Sudoku Worm of Zetamath is out now!

Google Play

Version 1.2.36 · 2026-05-26

No release notes were provided for this version.

Assessment record

Status
Review signals only
App identifier
cracking-the-cryptic
Review signals scanned
30 Oct 2026
Sources used
User reviews
Reviews read
309
Package examined
No package scan
Human inspection
Not completed
How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

Store facts

App Store · Google Play

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.41 ★ · 210 ratings
Version
1.2.36
Updated
27 May 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
246 MB
Open in App Store

Google Play

Store rating
4.10 ★ · 995 ratings
Version
1.2.36
Updated
26 May 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
Not supplied
Open in Google Play
Developer
Nick Carney
Category
Games
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices. The list below covers the other store only.
One-off packs3
Domino Sudoku PackPack$4.99
CTC Fog Pack #1Pack$4.99
Lines Variety PackPack$4.99
Show 7 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

GAS Volume #1Term not stated$2.99
GAS Volume #2Term not stated$2.99
CTC Approachable Sudoku #1Term not stated$2.99
CTC Worms - Marty SearsTerm not stated$0.99
Classic Volume #2Term not stated$4.99
CTC Worms - James SinclairTerm not stated$0.99
CTC Worms - PhistomefelTerm not stated$1.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How a review signal works

A review signal is produced automatically from public app reviews by a classifier — never by a hands-on Appworthy test, and never by a human analyst. It exists so a real, not-yet-audited app can carry more than a blank “Not yet tested” listing, without ever being mistaken for an assessment.

A theme only appears above once at least 5 distinct reviews corroborate it — one angry review can never tag an app. These thresholds are published settings and may be tuned as coverage grows.

It carries no confirmed findings — reviews are one kind of evidence, and nothing here has been hands-on tested. The moment Appworthy publishes a full assessment of this app, it replaces this signal, permanently.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A human review replaces this review-derived signal with hands-on, recorded measurements. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.