Dot n Beat-Test hand speed

2021 Top Music Game

Badsnowball Limited
App Store rating4.2★5.4K ratings
Google Play rating3.6★129.3K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $0.99–$7.99
Age4+Store age rating
Size228 MBiPhone download
CategoryGames

What we found

Full report

Serious warnings 2 confirmed warnings, and users report 1 more thing. Checked: 2,000 reviews, the Android app’s code, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

Pressure and ad claims

Ads

From our automated analysis, 31 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 2.4.3 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-31 .

The store currently lists version 2.4.3, updated 2026-09-30.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Dot n Beat is an absolutely addictive game with the most thrilling and exciting rhythm! You never wanna miss it!

2019 latest music arcade game, which tests your music rhythm and hand speed. Challenge your friends and see who has the last laugh!

A combination of various music written by the world's brilliant independent musicians, audiovisual effects and distinctive game playing-modes makes Dot n Beat enjoyable for all ages. A memorable music journey is about to start, let’s rock n roll!

How to play

Follow the beats and control the moving direction of the light ball by tapping the screen. Listen to the rhythms and play to the music so that you can get a higher score and more diamonds. Move your fingers to experience the thrills of compact rhythms.…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

3 published · 4 shown, not confirmed

Things to watch for 2

Findings that met the published evidence standard.

Multiple ad networks bundled

Measured

Bundles 16 distinct ad networks / mediation SDKs: Amazon Publisher Services, AppLovin MAX, BidMachine, Chartboost and 12 more

Sources
SDKs in the app package
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package
Definition

The package embeds several distinct advertising or mediation SDKs — a stack built for ad volume, not for a single house ad.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:1196a8611b5d72965f3664689a5b6f2416e65b99cdd79723d1083b6b2c9f334c

Aggressive ad load

Reported by 191 users

Aggressive ad load: raised by 191 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 10 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
User reports only. Published because the review evidence cleared this label’s own reviewer threshold.
Where measured
From Google Play reviews
Reported by
Raised by 191 distinct reviewers — about 1 in 10 reviews we read on this store leg (Google Play).
Definition

Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
9.6% of the 2,000 reviews read on this store leg (Google Play).
Published threshold
27 reviewers and 2.12% of at least 500 reviews

Positives 1

Specific evidence of a useful property, within the stated scope.

Developer says data deletion can be requested

Measured

The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

Sources
The app's own on-screen text and the store listing
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package. From the Google Play listing
Definition

The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.

Open evidence

One source only — shown, not confirmed 4

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

One source only

Misleading advertising: raised by 6 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 333 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From Google Play reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
0.3% of the 2,000 reviews read.

Usable without an account

One source only

The app's own text says: "Continue as %1$s"

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The app's own screens offer a way past sign-up — guest access, skipping, or browsing before registering — rather than gating the product behind an account. The store's privacy disclosure is checked alongside it: that disclosure is self-reported, so it corroborates this credit rather than establishing it.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:1196a8611b5d72965f3664689a5b6f2416e65b99cdd79723d1083b6b2c9f334c

Works offline

One source only

The app's own text says: "Open ad when you're back online."

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The app's own copy describes working without a connection — offline mode, downloading for offline use, or content saved for later. Shown because readers filter on it; it is a feature, not a fairness property, and never counts for or against an app.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:1196a8611b5d72965f3664689a5b6f2416e65b99cdd79723d1083b6b2c9f334c

Hard to cancel

One source only

Sells a subscription in-app but ships no cancel or manage-subscription text of its own, leaving the store's settings as the only exit

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:1196a8611b5d72965f3664689a5b6f2416e65b99cdd79723d1083b6b2c9f334c

What reviewers report

2,000 reviews read · 2 review-based observations

2,000 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Aggressive ad load

Published finding

Raised by 191 distinct reviewers — about 1 in 10 reviews we read on this store leg (Google Play).

It was good but half of the experience was just ads, look I know you want money but you don't have to put ads in every second. Plus the songs were bearly on beat.

3★ · Google Play · 2022-12-25

Terrible and made me feel sick lol. I play vr so my motion sickness tolerance is pretty high and surprisingly this made me very disorientated and almost sick lol. Cheap nock off songs and ads after every song

1★ · Google Play · 2022-12-17

I like it, but WAY to many adds. I wish i could restart once without seeing a add.

1★ · Google Play · 2023-03-11

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

Shown, not confirmed

Dumb, false advertising, ads

1★ · Google Play · 2024-01-07

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

8 measured · 0 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description lists a price and how often it bills
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description says how to cancel
Themes reported by reviewers
2 themes reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
Under 65% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

Android package 2.4.3, scanned 25 Oct 2026. These describe that package, not the current store version.

Sensitive permissions
1–2 requested
Counted against a fixed list of eighteen sensitive Android permissions: sixteen runtime permissions, among them location, camera, microphone, contacts and SMS, and two the user must switch on in system settings, drawing over other apps and usage access. Requesting one is not itself a finding.
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
1–2 found
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
10 or more found
Counted as distinct SDKs in the package we scanned. One mediation bundle can contribute several, so this is not a count of advertisers.
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 31 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 2.4.3 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-31 .

The store currently lists version 2.4.3, updated 2026-09-30.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 2.3.8 · 2023-08-16
Regular Optimization Tip: Music Adjustment (Setting Page) will greatly help you match the rhythm. The music will never end as long as you can follow the rhythm! Now, you can Diy your own background!

Google Play

Version 2.4.3 · 2026-09-30

No release notes were provided for this version.

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
dot-n-beat-test-hand-speed
Assessment date
31 Oct 2026
Sources used
6 independent signals: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
2,000
Package examined
Android · 2.4.3 · scanned 25 Oct 2026
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-31 from 2,000 user reviews, the app's package, the store listing and its privacy label.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-31 Version analyzed: 2.4.36 independent signals2,000 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.14Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.

Store facts

App Store · Google Play

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.20 ★ · 5,357 ratings
Version
2.3.8
Updated
16 Aug 2023
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
228 MB
Open in App Store

Google Play

Store rating
3.63 ★ · 129,299 ratings
Version
2.4.3
Updated
30 Sep 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
Not supplied
Open in Google Play
Developer
Badsnowball Limited
Category
Games
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices. The list below covers the other store only.
Subscriptions1
Diamond VIP MembershipTerm not stated$7.99
One-off packs4
3 Hours Pass PackagePack$1.99
200 Diamonds on First PurchasePack$0.99
40 HeartsPack$0.99
1000 Diamonds First PurchasePack$6.99
Show 5 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Remove Popup ADsTerm not stated$3.99
1 Hour Infinite Revive First PTerm not stated$0.99
1 Hour Infinite Revive CoinsTerm not stated$0.99
30 Revive CoinsTerm not stated$0.99
70 Revive Coins First PurchaseTerm not stated$3.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every recurring plan the store lists is named as weekly, the term read from the purchase names, with a list cut off at the store’s 10-item maximum not assessed; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.