Home Workouts & Fitness | Luvu

Fitness, Yoga, Stretching

Luvu
App Store rating4.8★12.4K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $14.99–$79.99
Age12+Store age rating
Size345 MBiPhone download
CategoryHealth & Fitness
DeveloperLuvu

What we found

Full report

Some warnings 5 users report having to wait or pay to keep going. Nothing confirmed. Checked: 228 reviews, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

  • Free to download · in-app purchases $14.99–$79.99 (9 listed; the App Store shows at most 10). The store doesn’t say how often these bill.
  • If you subscribe through the store, cancel in iPhone Settings → your name → Subscriptions. Deleting the app doesn’t cancel a subscription.

Paywalls and prices

From our automated analysis, 27 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 7.0.112 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-27 .

The store currently lists version 7.0.112, updated 2026-07-25.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Get fit with Luvu, your quirky fitness companion. Luvu is a cute, emotional marshmallow who auto-tracks your exercises and pushes you - in wholesome, slightly unhinged ways - to move more. Whether you’re doing bodyweight strength, cardio bursts, yoga, stretching, or mobility work, Luvu turns your at-home workout into a game you actually want to play.

Designed for every level - from absolute beginner to “I need to feel the burn” - Luvu gives you real-time feedback, progress that sticks, and wild reward moments that keep you coming back.

What you get with Luvu:…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

0 published · 1 shown, not confirmed

One source only — shown, not confirmed 1

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Progress pauses until you wait or pay

One source only

Energy / timer gating: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 46 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Use is rationed by an energy/hearts/lives meter that runs out and forces a wait or a purchase.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
2.2% of the 228 reviews read.

Nothing was published as a thing to watch for in this assessment. That is not a finding that nothing is wrong with the app.

What reviewers report

228 reviews read · 1 review-based observation

228 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Progress pauses until you wait or pay

Shown, not confirmed

ads — it was so such better before the “ ran out of energy! “ update. 100% wasn’t needed, i shouldn’t have to pay just to workout at home. now i have to watch ads in the middle of the workout. 0/10. ruined the app.

2★ · App Store · 2026-08-16

good app but has a bug — i really love this app and it does make working out a lot more fun and motivating, but the main problem is how fast the energy depletes and that it doesn’t tell you when it finishes recharging. if you refresh the…

4★ · App Store · 2026-06-13

Could be better — This could be a really cool app, if only it tracked you correctly and wouldn’t turn off randomly. I’ve been using this app for two weeks now. Sometimes it doesn’t track my movements correctly, sometimes not at all…

3★ · App Store · 2026-01-19

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

5 measured · 3 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description doesn’t say how to cancel (most don’t)
Themes reported by reviewers
1 theme reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
80–89% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

No package has been scanned for this app, so nothing is published about what it ships. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding.

Sensitive permissions
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 27 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 7.0.112 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-27 .

The store currently lists version 7.0.112, updated 2026-07-25.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 7.0.112 · 2026-07-25
Luvu got a glow-up: now fitter, faster, and even more fun! We've polished, tweaked, and sprinkled in extra marshmallow magic so everyone gets a better workout.

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
home-workouts-and-fitness
Assessment date
27 Oct 2026
Sources used
3 independent signals: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
228
Package examined
No package scan
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-27 from 228 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-27 Version analyzed: 7.0.1123 independent signals228 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.

Store facts

App Store

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.82 ★ · 12,398 ratings
Version
7.0.112
Updated
25 Jul 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
12+
Size
345 MB
Open in App Store
Developer
Luvu
Category
Health & Fitness
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions1
Family PlanTerm not stated$79.99
Show 8 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Luvu PlusTerm not stated$49.99
Luvu PlusTerm not stated$19.99
Luvu PlusTerm not stated$34.99
Luvu PlusTerm not stated$59.99
Luvu PlusTerm not stated$19.99
Luvu PlusTerm not stated$79.99
Luvu PlusTerm not stated$14.99
Luvu PlusTerm not stated$24.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.