HUD™ Dating App: Casual & Open

Meet Open-Minded Adult Singles

HUD STUDIO LIMITED
App Store rating4.1★208.4K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $5.99–$49.99
Age17+Store age rating
Size251 MBiPhone download
CategoryLifestyle

What we found

Full report

Some warnings 9 users report a free trial turning into a charge; 11 users report the basics being behind a paywall. Nothing confirmed. Checked: 547 reviews, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

Paywalls and prices

From our automated analysis, 26 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 9.3.34 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-26 .

The store currently lists version 9.3.34, updated 2026-10-22.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Join the HUD™ casual dating community and meet more than 20 million open-minded adult singles worldwide.

HUD™ - Revolution in Casual Dating

HUD™ App is a casual dating app that is honest about the realities of online dating. A safe space for like-minded people to connect, and explore dating freely.

Whether you're new to open relationships or simply looking to explore dating on your own terms, HUD App provides an inclusive, respectful and empowering experience for anyone wanting to meet new people without pressure.

We believe dating should be fun, flexible, and transparent — and that you should be able to express yourself freely while feeling safe and respected. HUD App is designed to help you explore relationships in a judgment-free space where honesty, consent and communication come first.

Find and connect with locals…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

0 published · 2 shown, not confirmed

One source only — shown, not confirmed 2

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Trial converts to a charge

One source only

Trial converts to a charge: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 61 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The free trial demands a payment method up front and/or rolls into a paid subscription with no usable warning.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
1.6% of the 547 reviews read.

Paywall blocks the basics

One source only

Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 11 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 50 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
2.0% of the 547 reviews read.

Nothing was published as a thing to watch for in this assessment. That is not a finding that nothing is wrong with the app.

What reviewers report

547 reviews read · 2 review-based observations

547 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Trial converts to a charge

Shown, not confirmed

A bonafide scam — App deliberately generates false ‘free trial’ advertisements to lure unsuspecting consumers bsck on the app, then charges them. They will continue to solicit ‘free weekly trials’ again and again , over and over, even…

1★ · App Store · 2026-06-15

Scam — In the app it asks if you want to signup for a one week free trial and then it immediately charges you for $20.

1★ · App Store · 2026-01-24

DON’T ACCEPT THE TRIAL — Don’t accept the trial period. They’ll offer is as a 7 day free trial but will charge you just a couple days after you start. It already isn’t a very active app, throw in the straight up deceitful tactics they use…

1★ · App Store · 2025-12-27

Paywall blocks the basics

Shown, not confirmed

This app is a waste of time — If you don’t pay you will not be matched! You can’t do anything on this app without paying. And even if you do it will show you the same people over and over, who will never see your profile anyway! Dont bother

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-02

Wack — I got one match and she didn’t respond after saying hi. Then everything else is behind a paywall. I do mean everything can’t see who liked your profile nor viewed it either. Can’t message without matching because if you do it while…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-29

Great app — Honestly a great app, but it feels like you cant do anything without premium, like most dating apps.

5★ · App Store · 2026-05-28

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

5 measured · 3 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description says how to cancel
Themes reported by reviewers
2 themes reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
65–79% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

No package has been scanned for this app, so nothing is published about what it ships. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding.

Sensitive permissions
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 26 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 9.3.34 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-26 .

The store currently lists version 9.3.34, updated 2026-10-22.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 9.3.34 · 2026-10-22
We update HUD™ regularly to make it faster and more reliable for you. This update includes bug fixes and performance enhancements.
Version 9.3.33 · 2026-10-19
We update HUD™ regularly to make it faster and more reliable for you. This update includes bug fixes and performance enhancements.
Version 9.3.32 · 2026-10-02
We update HUD™ regularly to make it faster and more reliable for you. This update includes bug fixes and performance enhancements.

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
hudtm-dating-app
Assessment date
26 Oct 2026
Sources used
3 independent signals: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
547
Package examined
No package scan
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-26 from 547 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-26 Version analyzed: 9.3.343 independent signals547 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.

Store facts

App Store

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.11 ★ · 208,355 ratings
Version
9.3.34
Updated
22 Oct 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
17+
Size
251 MB
Open in App Store
Developer
HUD STUDIO LIMITED
Category
Lifestyle
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions3
Hud 1 Week PremiumWeekly$14.99
1 Week Diamond MembershipWeekly$19.99
1 Month Diamond MembershipMonthly$49.99
One-off packs1
Bronze PackagePack$19.99
Show 6 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Unlock All Premium Features!Term not stated$29.99
1 Boost + 5 SparksTerm not stated$14.99
Profile BoostTerm not stated$9.99
Photo AccessTerm not stated$5.99
5 Boosts + 10 SparksTerm not stated$29.99
5 SparksTerm not stated$7.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.