Instant Heart Rate: HR Monitor

Pulse Tracker & Stress Test

Bodymatter, Inc.
App Store rating4.9★229K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $0.99–$59.99
Age4+Store age rating
Size116 MBiPhone download
CategoryHealth & Fitness

What we found

Full report

Some warnings 9 users report a free trial turning into a charge; 12 users report ads that misrepresent the app and 1 more report. Nothing confirmed. Checked: 500 reviews, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

Pressure and ad claims

Ads

From our automated analysis, 26 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 8.2.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-26 .

The store currently lists version 8.2.0, updated 2026-01-10.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Most accurate and easy-to-use heart rate app

- Used in heart research at UCSF!

- Get your heart rate in less than 10 seconds

- Check your stress levels

- See trends and insights

Just featured in Apple's new TV Ad “Strength” - use your iPhone to find out your heart rate in less than 10 seconds!

You DON’T need a dedicated heart rate monitor to get your pulse, download Instant Heart Rate today and use your camera’s flash to see how healthy you are!

With over 35 million users, the award-winning Instant Heart Rate app is all over the web.

Featured in: CNN, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Guardian, and many more.…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

1 published · 3 shown, not confirmed

Context 1

Facts that add context without being a charge.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart

Measured

In-app purchases run from USD 0.99 to USD 59.99 — a 61x spread across 10 items

Sources
The store listing
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
From the App Store listing
Definition

The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.

Open evidence

One source only — shown, not confirmed 3

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Aggressive ad load

One source only

Aggressive ad load: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 56 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
1.8% of the 500 reviews read.

Trial converts to a charge

One source only

Trial converts to a charge: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 56 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The free trial demands a payment method up front and/or rolls into a paid subscription with no usable warning.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
1.8% of the 500 reviews read.

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

One source only

Misleading advertising: raised by 12 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 42 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
2.4% of the 500 reviews read.

Nothing was published as a thing to watch for in this assessment. That is not a finding that nothing is wrong with the app.

What reviewers report

500 reviews read · 3 review-based observations

500 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Aggressive ad load

Shown, not confirmed

Very disappointed — I have heart issues and cannot afford an Apple Watch or Fitbit to keep up with tracking my heart palpitations. I used this app when I was trying to read my heart rate in the middle of one of my heart episodes and there…

1★ · App Store · 2025-07-04

Terrible functionality with iPhone 16 + ADS — This was a great app for checking your heart rate if you don’t have your watch on or didn’t have a watch. It does not seem to work at all with iPhone 16 and the amount of ads, length, and type…

1★ · App Store · 2025-06-29

30 second ads are too much — The latest app now displays 30 second ads. Thus, it’s significantly easier to just place my fingers on my wrist and take a manual reading.

1★ · App Store · 2025-04-28

Trial converts to a charge

Shown, not confirmed

FINANCIAL SCAM — I downloaded this a second time trying to get another free trial months later and it instantly charged me 59.99 which hasn’t processed but still says processing for months and I cannot even use my App Store to get apps bc…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-10

Deceptive — Signed up for the free trial then cancelled within the 3 days but was still billed for the year. Requested a refund but was turned down. Very deceptive business practice.

1★ · App Store · 2026-04-22

Started 3 day trial, immediately charged — I started the three day free trial, and was immediately charged $11.04. Scam. I’m not going thru a dispute for $11, but I will let everyone know anywhere I can.

1★ · App Store · 2026-04-04

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

Shown, not confirmed

Finger BP? — Several of this type of health app advertise having the ability to take BP directly from a finger. Blatant false advertising and they all need to take that down. If you want BP you will have to have a BP cuff.

1★ · App Store · 2026-05-02

Classic Bait and Switch! — Lousy app. If you say you are monitoring BP, and you are free, then the least you have to do is allow me to measure my BP without having to pay. I don’t care for my heart rate - that’s already taken care of by…

1★ · App Store · 2026-02-04

Used this for a while — The premium price is a ripoff - false advertising. The app will give you a heart rate if you stay completely still & put your finger in the right spot consistently. Premium adds only some bogus general assessments.

1★ · App Store · 2025-12-20

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

5 measured · 3 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description lists a price and how often it bills
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description says how to cancel
Themes reported by reviewers
3 or more themes reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
90% or more five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

No package has been scanned for this app, so nothing is published about what it ships. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding.

Sensitive permissions
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 26 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 8.2.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-26 .

The store currently lists version 8.2.0, updated 2026-01-10.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 8.2.0 · 2026-01-10
• Check out the brand new Instant Heart Rate experience! • Includes general performance enhancements and bug fixes Enjoying Instant Heart Rate? Take a brief moment to rate us on the App Store! Want to give us feedback? Send us a note at [email protected]

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
instant-heart-rate
Assessment date
26 Oct 2026
Sources used
3 independent signals: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
500
Package examined
No package scan
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-26 from 500 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-26 Version analyzed: 8.2.03 independent signals500 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.

Store facts

App Store

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.86 ★ · 228,960 ratings
Version
8.2.0
Updated
10 Jan 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
116 MB
Open in App Store
Developer
Bodymatter, Inc.
Category
Health & Fitness
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 6 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Heart Rate & Stress TestTerm not stated$9.99
PremiumTerm not stated$9.99
PremiumTerm not stated$59.99
PremiumTerm not stated$8.99
Feature upgradeTerm not stated$0.99
PremiumTerm not stated$4.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.