Moonstories- Werewolf stories

Read Romance Stories

HK IReader Technology Limited
App Store rating4.7★1K ratings
Google Play rating4.7★12.1K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $0.99–$29.99
Age17+Store age rating
Size192 MBiPhone download
CategoryLifestyle

What we found

Full report

Serious warnings 2 confirmed warnings, and users report 1 more thing. Checked: 400 reviews, the Android app’s code, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

Pressure and ad claims

Ads

From our automated analysis, 31 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 12.35.0 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-31 .

The store currently lists version 12.35.0, updated 2026-10-19.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Moonstories offers a fantastic world of novels, with a vast collection that includes romance, mystery, werewolves, campus life, and more!

Indulge in our best-selling novels, experience the passion of the characters and the excitement of the stories.

[Why Moonstories?]

Massive Collection of Stories

In Moonstories, you can always find your favorite stories: werewolf, badboy romance, kicking revenge…Immerse yourself in our endless stories!

Personalized recommendations

Our app intelligently recommends stories and authors based on your taste. You will never miss your favorite authors' latest releases and any new books.

Immersive Reading

Our app offers customization options that allow you to adjust your reading experience according to your preferences, enabling you to read comfortably at any time and in any place, immersing yourself in your favorite stories.…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

4 published · 8 shown, not confirmed

Things to watch for 2

Findings that met the published evidence standard.

Multiple ad networks bundled

Measured

Bundles 16 distinct ad networks / mediation SDKs: Amazon Publisher Services, AppLovin MAX, BidMachine, Chartboost and 12 more

Sources
SDKs in the app package
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package
Definition

The package embeds several distinct advertising or mediation SDKs — a stack built for ad volume, not for a single house ad.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:7e3ddd4cc232564c04e0455075e96757d212e7183512a8305c0ff6d8c64b0bac

Hard to cancel

2 independent sources agree

Hard to cancel: raised by 11 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 36 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews and the app's own on-screen text
Agreement
2 independent kinds of source agree.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package. From Google Play reviews
Definition

Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
2.8% of the 400 reviews read.

Context 1

Facts that add context without being a charge.

Asks for more sensitive permissions than similar apps

Measured

Requests 6 sensitive permissions (ACCESS_COARSE_LOCATION, ACCESS_FINE_LOCATION, CAMERA, READ_CALENDAR, READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE, READ_PHONE_STATE); the median for 327 scanned apps in Books & Reference is 2

Sources
The app manifest
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package
Definition

The package requests substantially more of the device's sensitive permissions than the typical app in its category. This is a measurement, not an accusation: a permission is granted because a feature needs it, and a wide request list is a reason to look rather than a finding on its own.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:7e3ddd4cc232564c04e0455075e96757d212e7183512a8305c0ff6d8c64b0bac

Positives 1

Specific evidence of a useful property, within the stated scope.

Developer says data deletion can be requested

Measured

The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

Sources
The app's own on-screen text and the store listing
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package. From the Google Play listing
Definition

The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.

Open evidence

One source only — shown, not confirmed 8

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Aggressive ad load

One source only

Progress is gated behind watching an ad: "Watch AD to earn rewards"

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:7e3ddd4cc232564c04e0455075e96757d212e7183512a8305c0ff6d8c64b0bac

Loot boxes with no stated odds

One source only

Sells a randomised reward ("%dCoins") and states no drop rates or odds anywhere in the app's own text

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The app sells randomised rewards — crates, chests, packs, pulls — and states no drop rates or odds anywhere in its own text, so what the money buys is unknowable before paying.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:7e3ddd4cc232564c04e0455075e96757d212e7183512a8305c0ff6d8c64b0bac

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

One source only

Misleading advertising: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 80 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From Google Play reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Reviewers repeatedly report that the app is not what its advertising showed. We never see the ad creative itself, so nothing we collect can corroborate or refute this — it is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
1.3% of the 400 reviews read.

Pay to progress

One source only

The app's own text says: "Cache parsing failed"

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Advancement or competition is gated behind spending money rather than playing.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:7e3ddd4cc232564c04e0455075e96757d212e7183512a8305c0ff6d8c64b0bac

Paywall blocks the basics

One source only

The app's own text says: "Only VIP members can gift books for friends to read free."

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:7e3ddd4cc232564c04e0455075e96757d212e7183512a8305c0ff6d8c64b0bac

Countdown-timer purchase pressure

One source only

Deadline pressure in the app's own copy: "Limited Offer"

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The app's own purchase copy attaches a deadline to buying — a countdown, 'offer ends in', 'limited time' — or ships a countdown view on a purchase-screen layout.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:7e3ddd4cc232564c04e0455075e96757d212e7183512a8305c0ff6d8c64b0bac

Usable without an account

One source only

The app's own text says: "Continue"

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The app's own screens offer a way past sign-up — guest access, skipping, or browsing before registering — rather than gating the product behind an account. The store's privacy disclosure is checked alongside it: that disclosure is self-reported, so it corroborates this credit rather than establishing it.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:7e3ddd4cc232564c04e0455075e96757d212e7183512a8305c0ff6d8c64b0bac

Works offline

One source only

The app's own text says: "Downloads"

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The app's own copy describes working without a connection — offline mode, downloading for offline use, or content saved for later. Shown because readers filter on it; it is a feature, not a fairness property, and never counts for or against an app.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:7e3ddd4cc232564c04e0455075e96757d212e7183512a8305c0ff6d8c64b0bac

What reviewers report

400 reviews read · 2 review-based observations

400 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Hard to cancel

Published finding

DO NOT DOWNLOAD. Cannot cancel subscrition and the app continues to tell me to do so after a day that has already passed.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-05-13

can't cancel subscription they keep charging. It doesn't appear in my google play store and they won't respond to my emails.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-20

you cant cancel the payment. the stories are fine- but they will rip you off when you try tk cancel

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-01

Reports that the ads misrepresent the app

Shown, not confirmed

ad said free, but it lied. subscription is 14.99 per week. False advertising and a scam

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-25

advertised as free, false advertising, dont bother with scams

1★ · Google Play · 2026-04-19

false advertisement, you only get to read a few chapters, then you have ti buy, no link for adds. to watch

1★ · Google Play · 2026-09-14

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

8 measured · 0 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description doesn’t say how to cancel (most don’t)
Themes reported by reviewers
2 themes reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
80–89% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

Android package 12.35.0, scanned 31 Oct 2026. These describe that package, not the current store version.

Sensitive permissions
6 or more requested
Counted against a fixed list of eighteen sensitive Android permissions: sixteen runtime permissions, among them location, camera, microphone, contacts and SMS, and two the user must switch on in system settings, drawing over other apps and usage access. Requesting one is not itself a finding.
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
3 or more found
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
10 or more found
Counted as distinct SDKs in the package we scanned. One mediation bundle can contribute several, so this is not a count of advertisers.
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 31 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 12.35.0 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-31 .

The store currently lists version 12.35.0, updated 2026-10-19.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 12.35.0 · 2026-10-21
Fresh new look, smoother reading Multiple bug fixes for better experience Update now and enjoy improved reading!

Google Play

Version 12.35.0 · 2026-10-19

No release notes were provided for this version.

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
moonstories-werewolf-stories
Assessment date
31 Oct 2026
Sources used
6 independent signals: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
400
Package examined
Android · 12.35.0 · scanned 31 Oct 2026
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-31 from 400 user reviews, the app's package, the store listing and its privacy label.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-31 Version analyzed: 12.35.06 independent signals400 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.14Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.

Store facts

App Store · Google Play

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.66 ★ · 1,047 ratings
Version
12.35.0
Updated
21 Oct 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
17+
Size
192 MB
Open in App Store

Google Play

Store rating
4.66 ★ · 12,087 ratings
Version
12.35.0
Updated
19 Oct 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
17+
Size
Not supplied
Open in Google Play
Developer
HK IReader Technology Limited
Category
Lifestyle
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices. The list below covers the other store only.
Subscriptions3
Moonstories Weekly VIPWeekly$16.99
Moonstories VIP Term not stated$19.99
Moonstories VIPTerm not stated$12.99
Show 7 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Recharge USD 4.99Term not stated$4.99
Recharge USD 9.99Term not stated$9.99
Recharge USD 29.99Term not stated$29.99
Recharge USD 19.99Term not stated$19.99
Recharge USD 2.99Term not stated$2.99
Recharge USD 14.99Term not stated$14.99
Recharge USD 0.99Term not stated$0.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every recurring plan the store lists is named as weekly, the term read from the purchase names, with a list cut off at the store’s 10-item maximum not assessed; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.