NewsBlur: RSS News Reader

Follow sites. Find your focus.

NewsBlur, Inc.
App Store rating4.7★513 ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $29.99–$99.99
Age4+Store age rating
Size33 MBiPhone download
CategoryLifestyle

What we found

Full report

Too little checked to say Store information only. We haven’t analysed this app or read its reviews yet.

Money

  • Free to download · in-app purchases $29.99–$99.99 (3 listed). The store doesn’t say how often these bill.
  • If you subscribe through the store, cancel in iPhone Settings → your name → Subscriptions. Deleting the app doesn’t cancel a subscription.

Not yet tested.

The store currently lists version 16.0, updated 2026-10-22.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Follow the sites you care about with NewsBlur, a personal RSS news reader that brings your reading together. Keep up with news, blogs, newsletters, and more, with your subscriptions and reading progress synced across iPhone, iPad, Mac, and the web.

READ YOUR WAY

Browse stories from individual sites or bring a folder together in one reading list. Choose a comfortable theme, adjust the text, and use gestures to move through your stories. Download stories for offline reading and pick up where you left off.

STORIES AT A GLANCE

Add widgets to your Home Screen. Each widget can show All Site Stories, a folder, or one site. Choose its source with Edit Widget.

FIND YOUR FOCUS

Train NewsBlur on authors, tags, and words in headlines to highlight stories you want and hide ones you don't. You decide what matters.…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

Not yet tested
Not yet tested. No analysis has been published for this app. A missing label is not a clean bill of health.

What reviewers report

No review coverage

No review analysis published for this app.

Measurements

4 measured · 4 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description says how to cancel
Themes reported by reviewers
Not assessed
This app's reviews have not been assessed yet
Five-star share of ratings
80–89% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

No package has been scanned for this app, so nothing is published about what it ships. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding.

Sensitive permissions
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Not yet tested

Not yet tested. No analysis has been run for this app, so there is no version or date to report.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 16.0 · 2026-10-22
NewsBlur now speaks 21 languages. Menus, buttons, settings, and setup follow your device language, or you can choose a language in Preferences. Your stories stay exactly as published. The language chooser previews your selection alongside English. Arabic and Hebrew support right-to-left layouts. Widgets now show a folder or site of your choice, with a separate selection for each widget. New widgets start with All Site Stories using your signed-in account. Refreshing is more reliable, including when hidden stories come first. Remove and re-add existing NewsBlur widgets to use the new version, then touch and hold a widget and choose Edit Widget. Keyboard shortcuts now work while the story…

Shortened here; the full notes are on the store listing.

Assessment record

Status
Not yet tested
App identifier
newsblur
Sources used
None recorded
Reviews read
None recorded
Package examined
No package scan
Human inspection
Not completed
How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

Store facts

App Store

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.70 ★ · 513 ratings
Version
16.0
Updated
22 Oct 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
33 MB
Open in App Store
Developer
NewsBlur, Inc.
Category
Lifestyle
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Show 3 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

NewsBlur PremiumTerm not stated$35.99
NewsBlur Premium ArchiveTerm not stated$99.99
NewsBlur Premium ProTerm not stated$29.99

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

What a missing label means

Not yet tested. No analysis has been published for this app, so there is no method to describe for it yet. A missing label is not a clean bill of health: it means nothing has been read, not that nothing is wrong.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A human review gives an app hands-on, recorded measurements. None has been run for this app. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.