PDF Scanner App: TapScanner

Scan Documents, Sign & Edit

SMART MEDIA INTERNET MARKETING LTD
App Store rating4.7★26.9K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $4.99–$49.99
Age4+Store age rating
Size200 MBiPhone download
CategoryProductivity

What we found

Full report

Some warnings 12 users report trouble cancelling. Nothing confirmed. Checked: 240 reviews, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

From our automated analysis, 30 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 4.78.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-30 .

The store currently lists version 4.78.0, updated 2026-10-26.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Scan, Print & Share any document to PDF.

The new home for all your paper documents.

Now you can simply scan, import and share right inside the best portable scanner app. Access everything you’ve previously scanned with the TapScanner app.

Why TapScanner?

Join over 100 Million satisfied users all over the world who trust TapScanner to be their tiny portable scanner.

Scan to PDF

• Scan any document and convert to PDF with your mobile device.

• TapScanner has got you covered with our pdf maker and pdf reader. Receipts, documents, business cards, whiteboards, ID’s, books and photos - From image to pdf immediately

• Scanning made easy

• Get your documents auto cropped and sorted in the way you need them

• Save time cropping each document…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

0 published · 2 shown, not confirmed

One source only — shown, not confirmed 2

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Usable without an account

One source only

The store privacy disclosure (4 entries) links no contact details or identifiers to the user — consistent with an app that does not require an account. Self-reported by the developer.

Sources
The store privacy disclosure
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From the App Store privacy disclosure

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The app's own screens offer a way past sign-up — guest access, skipping, or browsing before registering — rather than gating the product behind an account. The store's privacy disclosure is checked alongside it: that disclosure is self-reported, so it corroborates this credit rather than establishing it.

Open evidence

Hard to cancel

One source only

Hard to cancel: raised by 12 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 20 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From App Store reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
5.0% of the 240 reviews read.

Nothing was published as a thing to watch for in this assessment. That is not a finding that nothing is wrong with the app.

What reviewers report

240 reviews read · 1 review-based observation

240 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Hard to cancel

Shown, not confirmed

Difficult to cancel subscription — Difficult

3★ · App Store · 2025-11-08

Can't cancel subscription — I've tried to email them so I won't get charged, but it says there email is invalid.

1★ · App Store · 2025-06-17

Can’t cancel service charging me monthly and won’t return messages — I can’t cancel

1★ · App Store · 2025-04-14

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

5 measured · 3 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description doesn’t say how to cancel (most don’t)
Themes reported by reviewers
1 theme reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
80–89% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

No package has been scanned for this app, so nothing is published about what it ships. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding.

Sensitive permissions
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 30 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 4.78.0 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-30 .

The store currently lists version 4.78.0, updated 2026-10-26.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 4.78.0 · 2026-10-26
Just like your documents, Tapscanner needs some editing sometimes too. In this version you will find improvements and bug fixes. We are working hard to improve the app. If you're satisfied, we'd appreciate it if you rate us 5 stars!
Version 4.77.0 · 2026-09-16
Just like your documents, Tapscanner needs some editing sometimes too. In this version you will find improvements and bug fixes. We are working hard to improve the app. If you're satisfied, we'd appreciate it if you rate us 5 stars!

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
pdf-scanner-app-apple-1382564905
Assessment date
30 Oct 2026
Sources used
3 independent signals: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
240
Package examined
No package scan
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-30 from 240 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-30 Version analyzed: 4.78.03 independent signals240 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.14Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.

Store facts

App Store

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.66 ★ · 26,940 ratings
Version
4.78.0
Updated
26 Oct 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
200 MB
Open in App Store
Developer
SMART MEDIA INTERNET MARKETING LTD
Category
Productivity
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions5
Word to PDF Converter MonthlyMonthly$4.99
Camera Scanner App AnnualYearly$49.99
Camera Scanner App AnnualYearly$19.99
Camera Scanner App AnnualYearly$29.99
Convert PDF to Word - YearlyYearly$39.99
Show 2 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Sign & Share DocsTerm not stated$19.99
PDF Scanner App ProTerm not stated$49.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every recurring plan the store lists is named as weekly, the term read from the purchase names, with a list cut off at the store’s 10-item maximum not assessed; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.