Stepz - Step Counter & Tracker

Walking pedometer for steps

Mosaic S.r.l.
App Store rating4.5★32.7K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $0.99–$6.99
Age17+Store age rating
Size63 MBiPhone download
CategoryHealth & Fitness
DeveloperMosaic S.r.l.

What we found

Full report

Some warnings 1 confirmed warning. Checked: 500 reviews, the store listing and the privacy label.

Money

  • Free to download · in-app purchases $0.99–$6.99 (9 listed; the App Store shows at most 10). Weekly plans $2.99 (about $155 a year), $3.99 (about $207 a year), $4.99 (about $259 a year) and $6.99 (about $363 a year). The other purchases’ names don’t say how often they bill.
  • If you subscribe through the store, cancel in iPhone Settings → your name → Subscriptions. Deleting the app doesn’t cancel a subscription.

Ads

From our automated analysis, 27 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 4.10.36 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-27 .

The store currently lists version 4.10.36, updated 2026-03-27.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Stepz is a convenient step counter app that leverages the clever Apple Motion Coprocessor which collects your motion data automatically in the background while saving battery life. This simple pedometer app has been specifically developed for the iPhone and Apple Watch.

Do you move enough throughout the day? Learn more about your daily activity and get fit by reaching your step goal! To provide you with a complete overview of your fitness progress, Stepz can import all your past steps from the Apple Health app.

Stepz respects your privacy: all your personal fitness data is stored internally on your device and never shared via a network connection without your explicit consent.

* Featured by Apple on the App Store Home Page under Best New Apps in 22 countries (April 2015) *…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

1 published · 0 shown, not confirmed

Things to watch for 1

Findings that met the published evidence standard.

Aggressive ad load

Reported by 29 users

Aggressive ad load: raised by 29 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 17 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
User reports only. Published because the review evidence cleared this label’s own reviewer threshold.
Where measured
From App Store reviews
Reported by
Raised by 29 distinct reviewers — about 1 in 17 reviews we read on this store leg (App Store).
Definition

Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
5.8% of the 500 reviews read on this store leg (App Store).
Published threshold
27 reviewers and 2.12% of at least 500 reviews

What reviewers report

500 reviews read · 1 review-based observation

500 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Aggressive ad load

Published finding

Raised by 29 distinct reviewers — about 1 in 17 reviews we read on this store leg (App Store).

Sooooo many ads — Can’t get to the steps because the ads never go away or let you skip. The only option is to go to the App Store for the advertised game. Very annoying and bad user experience. Been trying to delayer my account but can’t…

1★ · App Store · 2026-10-03

Ads — TOO MANY ADS TO OPEN APP!!!!!

1★ · App Store · 2026-10-03

So annoying! — I have used the app for years to track my steps both at work and in my daily walks, but I cannot stand the endless ads that pop up constantly now! I’ll be in the middle of looking at my stats and the ads pop up and you have…

1★ · App Store · 2026-10-02

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

5 measured · 3 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description says how to cancel
Themes reported by reviewers
1 theme reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
65–79% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

No package has been scanned for this app, so nothing is published about what it ships. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding.

Sensitive permissions
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
Not assessed
No package has been scanned for this app
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 27 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 4.10.36 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-27 .

The store currently lists version 4.10.36, updated 2026-03-27.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 4.10.36 · 2026-03-27
We've taken care of a couple of bugs to give you the experience you deserve. If you're going to be your best selves, then we need to be OUR best selves. Thanks for using app! Keep crushing it!

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
stepz
Assessment date
27 Oct 2026
Sources used
3 independent signals: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure
Reviews read
500
Package examined
No package scan
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-27 from 500 user reviews, the store listing and its privacy label. We have not scanned the app's package, so nothing on this page was read from inside the app itself.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-27 Version analyzed: 4.10.363 independent signals500 reviews scannedConfidence: LowNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure. Not yet checked: SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest.

Store facts

App Store

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.47 ★ · 32,710 ratings
Version
4.10.36
Updated
27 Mar 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
17+
Size
63 MB
Open in App Store
Developer
Mosaic S.r.l.
Category
Health & Fitness
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions8
Weekly Pro with Free TrialWeekly$3.99
Weekly Bundle - Free TrialWeekly$6.99
Weekly ProWeekly$3.99
Weekly - Free TrialWeekly$3.99
Weekly BundleWeekly$6.99
Weekly PremiumWeekly$4.99
Weekly Prime with Free TrialWeekly$2.99
Bundle SubscriptionTerm not stated$3.99
Show 1 more purchase we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Stepz PROTerm not stated$0.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Three independent signals are read — user reviews, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.