To The Trenches: WW1 Army RTS

Offline Military Strategy Game

Dad Made
App Store rating4.7★8.2K ratings
Google Play rating4.4★6.2K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $1.99–$19.99
Age12+Store age rating
Size418 MBiPhone download
CategoryGames
DeveloperDad Made

What we found

Full report

Some warnings 5 users report having to pay to progress; 13 users report the basics being behind a paywall and 2 things we found but could not confirm. Nothing confirmed. Checked: 400 reviews and the Android app’s code.

Money

Paywalls and prices

Positives

From our automated analysis, 30 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 1.9.11 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-30 .

The store currently lists version 1.9.11, updated 2026-10-29.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Command a WW1 army in pixel-art trench warfare. Send infantry over the top, call in artillery and gas strikes to dominate the front lines.

Real-time strategy that can be played fully offline, with a large roster of nations, changing weather and an endless campaign where no two battles are alike.

Free to play with no ads of any kind. One purchase unlocks every nation, skill and elite units.

Lead your army through the chaos of 1917 Trench Warfare in this retro-style military strategy game. Command infantry, deploy brutal artillery strikes and dominate the battlefield with tactical precision. Procedurally generated battles mean every fight offers new challenges.

▶ FEATURES ◀

[PROCEDURAL BATTLES]

- Procedurally generated battlefields, so no two wars are alike.

- Face dilemmas that can change morale, rewards and your troops' stats.…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

1 published · 4 shown, not confirmed

Positives 1

Specific evidence of a useful property, within the stated scope.

No advertising SDKs

Measured

No advertising or mediation SDK among the 3 SDKs detected in the package

Sources
SDKs in the app package
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package
Definition

No advertising or mediation SDK of any kind was found in the package.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:69366013cef7b34befe0eb1b717a9c8b9d48d60b782a025c8a8b413386ba6dac

One source only — shown, not confirmed 4

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Paywall with no way past it

One source only

Ships a purchase screen ("Paywall intent is not provided.") with no dismiss, skip or "continue free" text anywhere in the package

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

A paywall screen ships with no dismiss, skip or 'maybe later' affordance anywhere in the package, so the app's own text offers no way in without paying.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:69366013cef7b34befe0eb1b717a9c8b9d48d60b782a025c8a8b413386ba6dac

Hard to cancel

One source only

Sells a subscription in-app but ships no cancel or manage-subscription text of its own, leaving the store's settings as the only exit

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:69366013cef7b34befe0eb1b717a9c8b9d48d60b782a025c8a8b413386ba6dac

Pay to progress

One source only

Pay to progress: raised by 5 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 80 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From Google Play reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Advancement or competition is gated behind spending money rather than playing.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
1.3% of the 400 reviews read.

Paywall blocks the basics

One source only

Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 13 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 31 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
From Google Play reviews

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
3.3% of the 400 reviews read.

Nothing was published as a thing to watch for in this assessment. That is not a finding that nothing is wrong with the app.

What reviewers report

400 reviews read · 2 review-based observations

400 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Pay to progress

Shown, not confirmed

It's a pretty good game but I don't like how you have to pay for game features like vehicles and unit specialisation that should begin in the game from the beginning without Pay to win

4★ · Google Play · 2026-06-08

more infuriating than fun. why waste on upgrades if troops lose all upgrades when they die anyways? Why so greedy with pay to win mechanics when you already charge 8.99 for the full version. I shouldn't be forced to shell out 50 dollars…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-15

after the latest update sometimes error occurred force close the game and restart my battle progress latest update its just impossible to win! this game starting to be Pay to Win!

2★ · Google Play · 2026-09-04

Paywall blocks the basics

Shown, not confirmed

it's great game I like it but only 1 problem while I know you want to make money but you are locking way too much behind paywall kinda makes this weird I like tanks and was hoping to try but it was locked out I would pay for premium but…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-11

I very much like this game, I am on day 45, however it gets boring quite quickly as you cannot adopt new unit types, as they are all behind a paywall. Many basic features that are in free to play games are behind a paywall in this game…

3★ · Google Play · 2026-07-05

Most of the content is locked behind a premium paywall , just bait and switch with the free app. Just make the game paid if you're just gonna only unlock like 10% of the content for the free version.

1★ · Google Play · 2026-05-16

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

8 measured · 0 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to fewer than 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description doesn’t say how to cancel (most don’t)
Themes reported by reviewers
2 themes reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
65–79% five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

Android package 1.9.11, scanned 30 Oct 2026. These describe that package, not the current store version.

Sensitive permissions
None requested
Counted against a fixed list of eighteen sensitive Android permissions: sixteen runtime permissions, among them location, camera, microphone, contacts and SMS, and two the user must switch on in system settings, drawing over other apps and usage access. Requesting one is not itself a finding.
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
1–2 found
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
None found
Counted as distinct SDKs in the package we scanned. One mediation bundle can contribute several, so this is not a count of advertisers.
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 30 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 1.9.11 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-30 .

The store currently lists version 1.9.11, updated 2026-10-29.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 1.9.11 · 2026-10-16
Troop skins arrive to give any platoon a new uniform. Night Raid victories now pay Bonds, shown before you start Raided platoons now fight with their real stats, specialist and officer The store can always be opened, and tells you why if it cannot connect Fixed Discord sign-in, a renaming issue between Officer and Commander, the 2x Bond voucher not activating and several crashes, plus other fixes.

Google Play

Version 1.9.11 · 2026-10-29

No release notes were provided for this version.

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
to-the-trenches
Assessment date
30 Oct 2026
Sources used
4 independent signals: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest
Reviews read
400
Package examined
Android · 1.9.11 · scanned 30 Oct 2026
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-30 from 400 user reviews and the app's package.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-30 Version analyzed: 1.9.114 independent signals400 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.14Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest. Not yet checked: the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.

Store facts

App Store · Google Play

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.70 ★ · 8,230 ratings
Version
1.9.11
Updated
16 Oct 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
12+
Size
418 MB
Open in App Store

Google Play

Store rating
4.39 ★ · 6,220 ratings
Version
1.9.11
Updated
29 Oct 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
12+
Size
Not supplied
Open in Google Play
Developer
Dad Made
Category
Games
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices. The list below covers the other store only.
One-off packs3
Ultimate BundlePack$12.99
Recruit BundlePack$3.99
Veteran BundlePack$7.99
Show 7 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Unlimited VersionTerm not stated$8.99
Training Bonds x 500Term not stated$9.99
Training Bonds x 250Term not stated$4.99
Training Bonds x 100Term not stated$2.99
Training Bonds x 50Term not stated$1.99
Training Bonds x 1000Term not stated$19.99
Guardian Token x 1Term not stated$1.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Four independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every recurring plan the store lists is named as weekly, the term read from the purchase names, with a list cut off at the store’s 10-item maximum not assessed; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.