Words Madness

An Anti-Stress crossword game

Mad Brain Games LTD
App Store rating4.8★1.7K ratings
Google Play rating4.9★70.5K ratings
PriceFreeIn-app $0.99–$9.99
Age4+Store age rating
Size256 MBiPhone download
CategoryGames

What we found

Full report

Serious warnings 2 confirmed warnings. Checked: 448 reviews and the Android app’s code.

Money

Ads

From our automated analysis, 30 Oct 2026. Every label links to its evidence in the full report below.

This analysis describes version 21.77.0 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-30 .

The store currently lists version 21.77.0, updated 2026-09-24.

Preview

Screenshot 1Screenshot 2Screenshot 3Screenshot 4Screenshot 5Screenshot 6Screenshot 7Screenshot 8

Store screenshots supplied by the developer.

About this app

Try out this challenging free-to-play word puzzle game.

Enjoying challenging levels with the mixture of scapes design.

Improve your written and spelling skills while kicking back.

In this challenging crossword puzzle game, you will:

► Solve Word Puzzles!

Solve crossword puzzles; word find challenges; word swipe scrabbles quests and more challenges for your brain.

►Renovate and Design!

Fix, build, paint and design your rooms. Make it unique and make it your own!

Join our puzzle adventure and get ready to become a spelling master!

Game Highlights:

► Gameplay - Solve each level by completing a word puzzle - connecting the letters and spelling words that fit perfectly into the crossword puzzle blocks.…

From the developer’s store description.

For developers and the curious

The full report

The evidence, sources, measurements and versions behind every label above.

Findings and evidence

3 published · 2 shown, not confirmed

Things to watch for 2

Findings that met the published evidence standard.

Multiple ad networks bundled

Measured

Bundles 16 distinct ad networks / mediation SDKs: Amazon Publisher Services, AppLovin MAX, BidMachine, Chartboost and 12 more

Sources
SDKs in the app package
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package
Definition

The package embeds several distinct advertising or mediation SDKs — a stack built for ad volume, not for a single house ad.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:87baadef3fd17c7ae555f0ac8848e9925886711bf78493aeeb6d45d05f7f06ca

Aggressive ad load

2 independent sources agree

Aggressive ad load: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (about 1 in 50 reviews we read)

Sources
User reviews and the app's own on-screen text
Agreement
2 independent kinds of source agree.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package. From Google Play reviews
Definition

Advertising volume or placement that interrupts normal use: ads between every action, unskippable or forced full-screen ads.

Open evidence
How we know
Share and sample
2.0% of the 448 reviews read.

Positives 1

Specific evidence of a useful property, within the stated scope.

Developer says data deletion can be requested

Measured

The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

Sources
The store listing
Agreement
A measured fact from one deterministic, checkable source.
Where measured
From the Google Play listing
Definition

The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.

Open evidence

One source only — shown, not confirmed 2

Open observations that have not cleared the evidence bar.

Hard to cancel

One source only

Sells a subscription in-app but ships no cancel or manage-subscription text of its own, leaving the store's settings as the only exit

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:87baadef3fd17c7ae555f0ac8848e9925886711bf78493aeeb6d45d05f7f06ca

A plan is pre-picked as 'recommended'

One source only

Purchase screen steers the choice: "BEST VALUE"

Sources
The app's own on-screen text
Agreement
Only one kind of source so far. Shown, not counted.
Where measured
Found in the Android app’s package

This observation has not cleared the required evidence standard.

Definition

The purchase screen arrives with one plan already framed as the recommended or most popular choice, so the default is the app's preference rather than the user's. We do not compare the plans' prices, and only the app's own text evidences this, so it is shown, but never counted as a charge.

How we know

Package artefact

sha256:87baadef3fd17c7ae555f0ac8848e9925886711bf78493aeeb6d45d05f7f06ca

What reviewers report

448 reviews read · 1 review-based observation

448 reviews read for this analysis. Each observation keeps the sample and store it was based on.

Aggressive ad load

Published finding

Ads after EVERY level, even if it takes 30 seconds to finish the level, they're long, have multiple layers, and they take you to the playstore. I don't want to hear that I can pay for no ads, NOBODY cares about watching ads for a free…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-08-21

bombarded by adds within seconds

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-14

Cannot recommend. If you think outside the box and guess words not in their limited list, you don't get a bonus. Other word games do this so much better. Forced ads are annoying, but at least they don't interrupt your game, so that gets a…

2★ · Google Play · 2026-10-13

A sampled review illustrates one person’s experience. It does not establish a finding on its own.

Measurements

8 measured · 0 not assessed

“Not assessed” means we could not measure it. It is never a zero and never a pass.

From store data and reviews

Developer replies to reviews
Replies to at least 1 review in 20
Price in the store description
The store description doesn’t list prices (most don’t)
Cancelling, in the store description
The store description doesn’t say how to cancel (most don’t)
Themes reported by reviewers
1 theme reported
Counted from the reviews we have read for this app. "No theme reported" means no theme reached our reporting threshold — it is not a finding that nothing is wrong with this app, and we do not say it is.
Five-star share of ratings
90% or more five-star
Arithmetic on the stores' own published rating counts. It says nothing about why the ratings fall where they do.

In the app package we scanned

Android package 21.77.0, scanned 21 Oct 2026. These describe that package, not the current store version.

Sensitive permissions
1–2 requested
Counted against a fixed list of eighteen sensitive Android permissions: sixteen runtime permissions, among them location, camera, microphone, contacts and SMS, and two the user must switch on in system settings, drawing over other apps and usage access. Requesting one is not itself a finding.
Analytics or tracking SDKs in the scanned package
1–2 found
Advertising SDKs in the scanned package
10 or more found
Counted as distinct SDKs in the package we scanned. One mediation bundle can contribute several, so this is not a count of advertisers.
How we know

Supporting measurements: not a complete list of possible harms or positives. Measurement vocabulary 1.4 · how these are measured

Versions and dates analysed

Assessed 30 Oct 2026

This analysis describes version 21.77.0 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-30 .

The store currently lists version 21.77.0, updated 2026-09-24.

Store update history

Each store’s release notes, as the developer wrote them. They are the developer’s words, not ours.

App Store

Version 21.77.0 · 2026-09-25
Bug fixes & game improvements, enjoy!

Google Play

Version 21.77.0 · 2026-09-24

No release notes were provided for this version.

Assessment record

Status
Automated analysis
App identifier
words-madness
Assessment date
30 Oct 2026
Sources used
4 independent signals: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest
Reviews read
448
Package examined
Android · 21.77.0 · scanned 21 Oct 2026
Human inspection
Not completed

Assessed 2026-10-30 from 448 user reviews and the app's package.

How we know
Measurement vocabulary
1.4

How this page was produced

Analyzed 2026-10-30 Version analyzed: 21.77.04 independent signals448 reviews scannedConfidence: HighNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.14Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest. Not yet checked: the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.

Store facts

App Store · Google Play

What the stores publish. Store ratings are the stores’ numbers, not Appworthy’s, and are never averaged across stores.

App Store

Store rating
4.81 ★ · 1,699 ratings
Version
21.77.0
Updated
25 Sep 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
256 MB
Open in App Store

Google Play

Store rating
4.90 ★ · 70,475 ratings
Version
21.77.0
Updated
24 Sep 2026
Price
Free · In-app purchases
Age rating
4+
Size
Not supplied
Open in Google Play
Developer
Mad Brain Games LTD
Category
Games
Listing price
Free · In-app purchases

Purchases the store lists

 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices. The list below covers the other store only.
Ad removal1
No AdsTerm not stated$9.99
One-off packs6
Farmers PackPack$3.99
Piggy Bank BundlePack$3.99
Beginner's BundlePack$1.99
Huge Coin PackPack$9.99
Farming Freshmen BundlePack$5.99
Piggy Bank BundlePack$4.99
Show 3 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Special OfferTerm not stated$2.99
RespinTerm not stated$0.99
Woof Woof OfferTerm not stated$1.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.

Method and limits

What this report can and cannot show

How the automated analysis works

This assessment is produced automatically. Four independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text and the app manifest — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every recurring plan the store lists is named as weekly, the term read from the purchase names, with a list cut off at the store’s 10-item maximum not assessed; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

Limits of this report

  • A package scan is static. It identifies code and text in one Android build. It does not measure a live ad session, test a deletion request, or count the steps needed to cancel.
  • Reviews keep their sample. A review-only charge shows distinct reviewers, the share and the sample size, and is published only once it clears that label’s published threshold. Calibration labels are machine-drafted and not yet confirmed by a person.
  • Not assessed is a state. It is never a zero and never a pass.
  • A missing label is not a clean bill of health. It means the evidence did not support one, not that the app is problem-free.
Not yet human-reviewed. A hands-on test can confirm or contradict a finding and adds its own measurements; it does not change a measurement row. Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

Request a correction

[email protected]

Write to [email protected], or use the form. Name the finding, the app version and the evidence that needs correcting. Factual corrections are free and never depend on buying anything.