DiscoverBrowse CategoriesHow it worksMethodologyFor developers
Photoroom: AI Photo Editor
Photoroom · Photo & Video

What’s the catch? Hard to cancel — reported by 36 users.

Analyzed automatically from 6 independent signals that had to agree — not a hands-on test, and not human-reviewed.

2 on the catch list · analyzedConfidence: Medium6 signal sources2,610 reviews scannedNot human-reviewedas of 2026-10-07
 Which version this describes

App Store

This analysis describes version 2026.40.01 of the app, analyzed 2026-10-07 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 2026.40.01, updated 2026-09-28.

Google Play

This analysis describes version 2026.40.03 of the app (the version number recorded inside the package we inspected), analyzed 2026-10-06 . The app may have changed since.

The store currently lists version 2026.40.03, updated 2026-10-05.

What the analysis found

Each finding shows what agreed and how strongly. Automated analysis

The catch list 2

Charges we publish at a strength we stand behind: measured from an artefact, agreed by independent sources, or reported by enough users to clear that charge's own published bar.

Reported by users: Hard to cancel
Reported by 36 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
Cancelling the subscription is blocked, hidden, multi-step, or simply does not take effect.
What we saw: Raised by 36 distinct reviewers — 2.2% of the 1,650 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).
Reported by users: Trial converts to a charge
Reported by 42 usersReported by users, not measured — nothing we can inspect could show this either wayview evidence
The free trial demands a payment method up front and/or rolls into a paid subscription with no usable warning.
What we saw: Raised by 42 distinct reviewers — 2.5% of the 1,650 reviews scanned on this store leg (App Store).

Context 1

Measured and published because a reader would want to know — deliberately not a charge. The measurement alone does not show a harm.

Cheapest and priciest options are far apart
MeasuredPublished as context — deliberately not a charge · from the store listingview evidence
The disclosed in-app purchases span an unusually wide price range. Published as context: the cheapest and priciest items may be different kinds of product entirely, so the spread alone deducts nothing.
What we saw: In-app purchases run from USD 5.99 to USD 249.99 — a 42x spread across 10 items

Positive evidence 2

Things this app does right, published at the same strengths as the catch list.

No advertising SDKs
Measuredfrom SDKs in the app packageartefact 31c284cc787a…
No advertising or mediation SDK of any kind was found in the package.
What we saw: No advertising or mediation SDK among the 11 SDKs detected in the package
Developer says data deletion can be requested
Measuredfrom the store listingview evidence
The developer's data-safety disclosure on the store states that users can request deletion of their data, or the app's own text offers a way to delete the account. This restates what the developer declares; it is not a test of whether deletion works. Apple publishes no equivalent disclosure, so on an Apple-only listing only the app's own text can support it.
What we saw: The developer's store data-safety disclosure states that data deletion can be requested; we have not seen a deletion control in the app's own text

One source only — shown, not confirmed 4

A single kind of evidence. We publish these because withholding them would be the bigger distortion, and we do not treat any of them as a finding we stand behind.

Reported by users: Paywall blocks the basics
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The core of the app — not extras — sits behind payment, or previously-free function moved behind a paywall.
What we saw: Paywall blocks the basics: raised by 10 distinct reviewers (0.6% of 1650 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Price keeps rising
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
The price of the paid tier has been raised on existing users.
What we saw: Price keeps rising: raised by 9 distinct reviewers (0.5% of 1650 reviews scanned)
Reported by users: Reports of unexpected charges
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is user reviews.view evidence
A large number of reviewers report being charged when they did not expect it — including being charged after cancelling during a free trial, or when a trial turned into a paid plan without warning. We cannot see anyone's billing, so this is published as an attributed user report: what reviewers say, and how many of them said it.
What we saw: Surprise charges: raised by 27 distinct reviewers (1.6% of 1650 reviews scanned)
In the app's own text: Countdown-timer purchase pressure
One source onlyShown, not confirmed — the only source is the app's own on-screen text.artefact 31c284cc787a…
The app's own purchase copy attaches a deadline to buying — a countdown, 'offer ends in', 'limited time' — or ships a countdown view on a purchase-screen layout.
What we saw: Deadline pressure in the app's own copy: "Limited offer"

What reviewers said

Verbatim excerpts from public store reviews, shown as corroborating user reports. They are not Appworthy audit evidence, and a quotation is not proof of the finding it sits under.

Trial converts to a charge

Charged when offered free trial, deleted immediately — I selected free trial and was immediately charged. Not only that but in my case the edits made were no improvement on Gemini chat, couldn’t change the background of the image though…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-12

Not-so-free Trial — When I select a subscription with a free trial, the app still attempts to charge my card $25. Unbelievable. Your app could be amazing but if you’re scamming people into paying you for “free trials”, then I’m afraid I…

3★ · App Store · 2026-08-30

Charged right at signup even though they offer a free trial. pixelcut is light years better. — Exactly what the title says: Charged right at signup even though they offer a free trial. pixelcut is light years better in every way.

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-20

Hard to cancel

Cannot cancel your subscription — I would give this zero stars if I could. The app didn’t do exactly what I’d hoped. I signed up for the free trial, and none of the platforms will let me cancel my subscription.

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-11

Cancelling on phone — I’m on a phone, and to cancel the subscription you have to go to the website to cancel, but it directs to the app, which directs to the website and so on. I would rate this app a 2/5 if cancelling wasn’t completely…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-27

Won’t let me cancel free trial — They make it very difficult to cancel the free trial

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-17

Paywall blocks the basics

Free trial not free — I downloaded this app by mistake. I thought it was something that I was looking for. I instantly cancel this subscription that was free and now I cannot download or update any apps on my phone because he’s trying to…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-07

Used to like this when it was free — A great app but a shame that they changed it from lots of free stuff with adding the logo at the bottom on final picture to now you have to pay a subscription to get the best out of the app.. I have…

4★ · App Store · 2026-07-09

Cynical App - Didn’t work as promised — Picked this because it promised basic functionality for free but it didn’t do as promised … instead, on installing the load stalled at the UPGRADE TO PRO option, pushing you for a supposed FREE…

2★ · App Store · 2026-07-06

Price keeps rising

This used to be a really great app for inserting simple backgrounds into pictures. Now it inserts them as some sort of PNG that's very faint that you can't see until you save it and it has poor picture quality. They've ruined this app and…

1★ · Google Play · 2026-10-04

Glitchy since they started charging more — This is a useful app, and good at what it does, but since the price was increased 10x it has been glitchy and unreliable. Very disappointed with this app and can’t believe that it costs as much…

2★ · App Store · 2026-07-02

Good but be careful — I have been using photoroom for quite some time when they increased their fee. Ok, that’s fine. What isn’t fine is they renewed me at the new price when I still had months left on my pre paid subscription. Lucky I…

4★ · App Store · 2026-06-22

Reports of unexpected charges

Unreasonable charges — ⚠️ PLEASE BE EXTREMELY CAREFUL BEFORE PURCHASING ANYTHING THROUGH THIS APP. I signed up for a yearly subscription ONE TIME, and somehow I was charged six consecutive times, once every week, for a plan I never signed…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-28

Scam App — I clicked on “Free” tried this apps feature, it kept asking to try more additional features for more cost, I declined. I CANCELLED the app within minutes after clicking on it and NOW I’ve been charged $16.89 even with in their…

1★ · App Store · 2026-09-22

Scammers ! Terrible app — Double charged me ! Feedback on what I experienced: One of the pages where you can add a photo and change the background was glitching, the screen get stuck and starts flickering. When I placed a high resolution…

1★ · App Store · 2026-08-09

What this app sells

Every purchase the store discloses. Store listing
 What this app sells

From the store listing. Billing terms are read from each purchase’s name — the stores don’t publish them — so treat them as a strong hint, not a disclosure.

Subscriptions3
Monthly Basic Plan (Exp A)Monthly$12.99
Monthly Basic Plan (Exp)Monthly$14.99
Yearly Basic Plan (Exp)Yearly$89.99
Show 7 more purchases we couldn’t categorise

These are really on sale; we just can’t tell from the name whether they recur.

Photoroom PROTerm not stated$5.99
Photoroom PROTerm not stated$9.99
Photoroom PROTerm not stated$89.99
Remove Background Pro (Exp)Term not stated$5.99
Photoroom MaxTerm not stated$34.99
Photoroom MaxTerm not stated$15.99
Photoroom MaxTerm not stated$249.99
This list is cut off. Apple shows at most 10 in-app purchases, and this app is at the limit — so it very likely sells more than we can see.
Google Play doesn’t publish per-purchase prices, so this list covers the other store only.

How the automated analysis works

Automated, corroborated, and never human-reviewed without a person.

This assessment is produced automatically. Six independent signals are read — user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure — and each candidate finding is filed under the sources that support it.

No charge stands on one kind of evidence — with one published exception. A finding is either a measured fact that anyone can reproduce (an ad SDK is in the package; every subscription bills weekly; the privacy label omits a tracker we can see), or it is an interpretation — and an interpretation needs independent sources to agree before it reaches the catch list. The exception is a harm only users can see: a charge may publish from reviews alone, as “Reported by N users”, once enough reviewers raise it to clear that charge’s own published bar. That agreement rule is what replaced the human reviewer, not a model’s confidence.

There is no overall score, on purpose. A 0–99 number was published here until 2026-09-15. It was withdrawn because it discriminated too weakly to be the instrument — 44.7% of every pair of apps tied — and because a single number is a verdict where a count is an observation. What publishes instead is a row of measurements, each of which says what was counted and, where we could not look, says that instead.

Findings under One source only are real reports we do not stand behind as findings. They are shown because withholding them entirely would hide a genuine complaint, and labelled because publishing them as charges would be an accusation off a single source.

 Not yet human-reviewed

Several measurements above say “Not assessed” because no artefact we hold can answer them. A human review is what resolves those — and it can remove a favourable band as easily as add one.

Hands-on inspections are not yet open.

 How this page was produced
Analyzed 2026-10-07 Version analyzed: 2026.40.01 (App Store), 2026.40.03 (Google Play)6 independent signals2,610 reviews scannedConfidence: MediumNot human-reviewedVocabulary v1.13Methodology v1.3
Signals run: user reviews, SDKs in the app package, the app's own on-screen text, the app manifest, the store listing and the store privacy disclosure.